Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
As you may be aware from my recent rash of questions, I recently started playing around with BCM50's.

At time of install (by some hack), client insists he paid for keycodes to 32 sets. Element Manager indicates only 20 sets/ports active. There are exactly 20 sets installed at the location.

Question is: Is there a way to "activate" dormant ports/extensions? Do they lay dormant until activated, or is their inactivity an indication that they were not purchased?


D. Ocean
Miami, FL
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,685
Likes: 4
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,685
Likes: 4
Station ports are activated by license.


Marv CCNA, CTUB
TeleMarv Services (Retired)
Providing telecommunication solutions in Ottawa Canada since 1990
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Right. So, if licensed, they would appear "active" in the list of ports when viewing through Element Manager? Right now, all ports in excess of the original 20 are grey'ed out.

I'm wondering if I have to do something else to "activate" the ports within Element Manager (assuming they are bought/paid for).


D. Ocean
Miami, FL
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
Moderator-Nortel
Offline
Moderator-Nortel
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
The MOST digital station key codes you can activate with digital key codes are 12. Those 12 reside on the main unit.
If you want more than 12, then you add an expansion unit.
You must have 1 keycode for the expansion unit.
That keycode will enable whatever module you have in the expansion unit.
If you put a 16 DSM in there you will have 16 digital ports.
If you put a 32+ DSM in there you will have 32 digital ports.

If you have a second expansion unit, you need another expansion key code and it will enable what ever module you put in there.

And the expansion ports may not show enabled until you connect a digital phone to each set of 16 ports.


If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
Moderator-Nortel
Offline
Moderator-Nortel
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
Just taking a guess at your "only 20 ports" showing.

Do you have a 16-port DSM in the expansion?
That would give you 16 ports.

Then you may have only activated 4 digital ports on the main unit.

That would give you the 20 ports.

Most sales will come with enabling expansions before enabling main unit ports. Cheaper.


If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
There are two expansion cabinets. One expansion houses the PRI card. The second expansion appears to have a 16-port DSM card.

Not sure which is which, as the amphenols are not labeled, and I'm not familiar enough with the port numbering to know which ports are on the main cabinet and which are on the expansion. I guess I'll have to do some more reading/exploring in the browser.


If I punch down a set to the next available port, the system will see it, but the phone doesn't show time/date (no power to the digital set).

I think you may be correct with the 4 digital ports on the main/16 on the expansion. I'll have to physically trace the amphenols to determine what's/what.

Thank you.


D. Ocean
Miami, FL
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 49
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 49
DN's on expansion would have different bus # than the one on the main base unit if you look at them thru Element Manager. If you have the license but have no actual set plugged in, the stat will show enabling instead of enabled .

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Danny,
It sounds like you are mixing up how Norte (now Avaya) licenses the BCM50. All VM license are based on Key codes. The Stations and Analog ports are mixed licensed. example: The base unit is key code driven but any MBM in the expansion slot are whole licensed by the expansion key code.


DataElectric-Avaya/FL Gov, SMB & Enterprised Partner
www.edataelect.com
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Danny,
Also please keep in mind that the BCM50 works on a resource bases and the system was designed to support 30 phones.

Very easy to find the amount he paid for by the element manager under licensing or logging on to the KRS website (avaya partners only) for the current licensing in the system


DataElectric-Avaya/FL Gov, SMB & Enterprised Partner
www.edataelect.com

Moderated by  MooreTel, NTlayoff 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,819
Posts636,734
Members49,641
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
jmd2009, Ken Stephens, Teri J
Newest Members
AlAl, mike hurford, Nigel S, ramo, Monte Grubbs
49,640 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
pvj 12
Toner 10
ramo 10
dans 5
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 171 guests, and 54 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5