Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#153036 05/05/05 12:10 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 4
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 4
A FAX is connnected to the XDP port of a 7230 set. I set intercom '391' for the parallel mode, but the Fax machine doesnt ring along with the station as I want it to. The phone on the fax works normally on my CO1 except that it doesnt ring. By the way, I am programming an D1232 switch with a proprietary station with LCD display.


Steve Goldband
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#153037 05/05/05 04:25 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 324
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 324
use xdp assign prog no:600
enter the last 2 digits of the digi phone port (ie) if fax is connected to ext 109 then you would enter 09
the fax in this case would be ext 209
then you would point your line (or)trans your calls to ext 209

this is how i do hope it helps

#153038 05/05/05 07:06 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,043
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,043
goldband, do you want the fax to be in parallel to the 7230 or do you want it to be a seperate extension?
If parallel the make sure program 600 is disabled for that port, if a seperate extension the make sure program 600 (XDP) is enabled.

#153039 05/07/05 11:11 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 4
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 4
I want a separate extension, and am getting it to be by setting the XDP port- it does answer the correct line. However I cannot get the XDP to RING no matter what I try-- is there a 'SLT Ring enable' setting somewhere?

Also, this extension picks up as an intercom line (I can dial 9 for a CO line), and i would rather it default to a certin CO-- is this possible?


Steve Goldband
#153040 05/07/05 11:55 AM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,043
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,043
An XDP will always go off hook on intercom.
Your certain it's not the fax's ringer turned off or set not to answer?
You may want to test it with a standard phone.
what Ext. is this on. You know how to call the Ext. internally correct?
If it's tied to 101 then call 201 or if its' on
102 then call 202 and so on.
Then in programming check fields 603 & 604, DIL-1N for the ringing assignments. It is split for the main PITS phone and the SLT on the XDP.
Go to that port and press next and it should read that port # and -2 then set it accordingly.
If it rings on intercom that's just testing the ringer and the pick up mode of the fax it doesn't mean that incoming lines will ring to it.
That's where the programming comes in at.
Good luck, Gem.

#153041 05/07/05 02:09 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 4
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 4
OK. I checked the fax ringer setting and also subsituted a plain telephone set, neither rings when I dial the extension the extension for the fax -202 in my case. If I go off hook on the fax, the call is answered and I can talk normally from the extension to the fax phone... seems everything is OK except the ringing.

One clue... my CO lines are actually VOIP lines from Vonage, which are working fine except for the above problem.


Steve Goldband
#153042 05/07/05 05:35 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,043
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,043
It sounds as though you have a parallel connect
which would mean the XDP is not enabled.
Have you checked the programming as stated above.
By any chance has any one been playing around with "flexible numbering" ? Use that SLT and from that Ext. call a display set and see what Ext. it shows is calling.
Do you have the Install and programming manuals?
If your not familiar with programming then you should consider calling a certified Tech.


[This message has been edited by MrGemini (edited May 07, 2005).]

#153043 05/09/05 06:19 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 32
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 32
Quote
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by goldband:
A FAX is connnected to the XDP port of a 7230 set. I set intercom '391' for the parallel mode, but the Fax machine doesnt ring along with the station as I want it to. The phone on the fax works normally on my CO1 except that it doesnt ring. By the way, I am programming an D1232 switch with a proprietary station with LCD display.</font>

Just a little trick I learned. If you have a spare station port, disable XDP on that station port, then take the tip and ring from that station port and connect it to the red-green of the other stations jack(the pair of wires that normally would be connected to the extra device "portion" of the station port-the one the fax is connected to). I mean the actual wires that go to the jack. Panasonic tends to call the station ports, jack numbers just to confuse the issue.

If you want to use the existing XDP rather than what I described above, make sure that XDP is enabled for that station port. Place a test call (intercom call to that extension number) to make sure that the fax even rings.

How is that XDP/fax phone supposed to ring? Through the AA or do you have direct ringing assigned to the extension number of the XDP port?

The flexible numbering on the TD1232's is not all that flexible as anyone who has programmed one of these can testify. They don't have enough "fake extension number's"
you can assign in order to change the extension number's 8 at a time. It is a royal pain. However the TDA's really simplify this and it is a vast improvement.


"It is never too late to be what you could have been"......George Elliot
#153044 05/21/05 01:49 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 2
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 2
try dialling 691 from the fax ,this is the code to enable ringing on an xdp device.

#153045 05/21/05 06:00 AM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,043
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,043
Quote
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by ctsurplus447:
try dialling 691 from the fax ,this is the code to enable ringing on an xdp device.</font>

ctsurplus447, Thankyou for your input.
I Don't know about the UK versions but here on the USA versions there is no such code as "691"
You may be thinking of "391" which would activate ringing on a paraell
connect which is not what he is looking for.
To have a true xdp extension you would enable program field 600 for that port and that would make a completely seperate
SLT extension off the same port. In that case ringing and CO assignments would be set in system programming the same as any other extension.
Gem

[This message has been edited by MrGemini (edited May 21, 2005).]


Moderated by  Carl Navarro, OBT 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,876
Posts636,982
Members49,670
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
johnney, Johnny Yuma, MattW, Scott handy, Todd Johnson, Vrox
Newest Members
XJR9000, BitBang, MediaComposerMan, TAK, stebimi
49,670 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 10
dexman 5
Shahza 4
jsaad 4
juno 3
Who's Online Now
2 members (teleco, palopaeus), 62 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5