Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#166829 06/30/10 08:24 PM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
I have a TVM-50 that, when it uses a custom menu to transfer to local extensions - the phone set rings, but when I pick it up, I hear a greeting recorded 4 years ago - one that I cannot find on the system now (not even in the other custom menus). The caller only hears ringing and then it terminates to the voicemail for that extension.

Weird, no?

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,924
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,924
Each ext mailbox has 3 greetings that can be used,
No Answer, Busy, After Hours. Sometime people change and the after hours greeting of mailbox does not get changed. If I understand your question, not very clear.
You are saying a call comes in, answered by Auto Attendant, transferred to an ext, ext rings then you answer ext and hear a greeting??? You should be connected to outside caller at that point.
Tell us the exact sequence of events that brings on this Phantom greeting.

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 238
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 238
Maybe its doing a screened transfer, and the system prompt "you have a call" was changed to something else?

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Actually even if I don't use auto attendant it happens. Phone system rings through to all lines. No one answers. Flips to auto and my custom message one for Daytime answer. They select to transfer to extension. That person at that extension picks up and it is an old internal greeting that is playing to the internal phone user. Externally they think no one answered and they eventually end up in the voicemail.

This message that is played is NOT found as any of the three messages available to any extension currently setup on the system.

I am starting to wonder if I should factory default and set it up again. I've never done the tvm setup before as the company we purchased the phone system from went belly up.

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,043
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,043
I think ICTelco nailed it.
Change your transfer sequence to FXA and see if it still happens. If it is a prompt, you may also get rid of it by setting the COS and all related programming to "use system prompt"
Then you can go back and check the prompts.
Also, if the system isn't that large you may consider a default and rebuild.
---------------------------
MrG

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Can you access these messages from the TVM software? Or do you have to use the 101 extension to access and change the system prompts...?

The problem I'm having is that I cannot find any documentation on the use of the software (I'm running TVM Maintenance Console 0.008)... I have not found any reference to a newer version.

I appreciate the help...

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Hey everyone - finally found where it was hiding - there's a Utility menu at the top where ALL of the Service Recordings are accessed. Finally found that someone has overwritten the Exit message.

Thanks for your help!

Bill


Moderated by  Carl Navarro, OBT 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,739
Posts636,410
Members49,618
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Salman Imtiaz, SayWhat, Tariq
Newest Members
Homer Domer, Lane, AMS Technology C, Chrontel, RonZ1971
49,617 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 102 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5