Phone Systems

EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
Mark8 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
My company's Telrad 128/S60 system abruptly stopped working (completely dead), a few days after we switched from POTS telephone service to cable telephone service from our local cable TV company. I removed the Telrad power supply (#76-110-1601/2) and tested the voltage on J1 with a digital multimeter, and I found only fluctuating voltages in the range of 0-4 volts on the +/- 5V terminals versus GND. At the -48VA and -48VA I measure exactly 0 volts with respect to GND, EGND, and each other (I'm not sure which terminal to use as "ground" for -48V).

I'd appreciate anyone's help with the following two questions:

1. Do I have a bad power supply, or am I testing the power supply incorrectly?

2. Does anyone know of any incompatibility problems with cable telephony modems that could cause damage to Telrad phone systems? (Our phone lines are now provided by an Arris Touchstone model TM504G modem which receives data through a standard RG6 television cable.)

Mark

Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,281
Moderator-Telrad
Offline
Moderator-Telrad
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,281
For quetsions 2. Answer: The cable modems would have NOT done any damage to your system if installed correctly. I've switch service for my customers all the time.

For questions 1: I don't know what the voltage that comes out of the power supply exactly. But I could tell you this. If you have acess to program the system. Remove all the cards except the main Processor card (MPD,MPD2 or Ipex) and try connecting to the system. If you can't connect, the problem is the processor card or the power supply. In rare cases it could be the cabinet.

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
Mark8 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
Thank you very much for the information. I do not have the cable or software needed to program the system. Considering this, we decided not to attempt diagnosing the problem ourselves, but rather called a local phone technician come to our office this morning. He put in a new power supply, and everything works fine now. Thanks again,

Mark


Moderated by  SSPhone 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
Officeserv systems can't dial out.
by RM SYSTEMS - 05/12/21 11:55 AM
Samsung Tech Support
by kevinoffsite - 05/10/21 05:41 PM
Saying good by to all the rest of my toshiba
by SSPhone - 05/07/21 04:28 PM
IP Office 500 V2 crash
by Mercenary Roadie - 05/07/21 08:24 AM
Random characters on screen
by dougster - 05/06/21 06:49 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums93
Topics94,379
Posts639,668
Members49,456
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
BGarner, crxtion, lamont, S-ROBEY
Newest Members
R&j, Andrea Sau, eos90066, Sonic, ERA
49,456 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
Global Test Supply
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 44
pvj 18
Ruben 15
bditech 11
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
www.aweber.com
landing page builder
NordVPN
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
28 members (RM SYSTEMS, JBean3329, metelcom, BobRobert, erniejoey, Curlycord, MooreTel, Silversam, Skunky, Meyery2k, mdrmdr, Mercenary Roadie, mongo5150, nortelvoip, RATHER BE FISHING, Yoda, newtecky, Touch Tone Tommy, dexman, justbill, BrianS, sundance, dougster, johno, Professor Shadow, nfcphoneman, Ruben, FoneJacker), 285 guests, and 64 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
vpnproxymaster
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners