Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
jc2it Offline OP
OP Offline
First of all I am an IT Manager with about three years experience using CTX WinAdmin software for making Adds, Moves, and Changes. This system is on WinAdmin 2.22A.15 and the CTX670 is R2.22 MH214. The CTX100 are at R2.21 MH112, R2.22 MH214, and R2.22 MH214

We have four locations connected in a hub to our corporate office. The connections are Point-to-Point T1's. The main office is a CTX 670 with CTX 100's at each remote site. Between 2 of the remote sites and the main office we use Toshiba's VoIP and networking to connect between the CTXes. The other remote location is larger with more traffic, so we elected to channelize the T1 and use 2/3 for IP data, and 1/3 to provide 8 voice channels.

Since the original setup we have had problems with some (not all) of the Fax machines that use the Channelized T1 for faxing (see problem below). I do not know where to look to fix this, and I have tried setting program 200-Station Data Item 14-Bearer Capability to Speech. Which is how I understand it to work. Perhaps you could explain this better? This never seems to experience a problem over long distance services, only through the T1. Sometimes the problem seems worse than others.

Recently, we began having problems with one of our faxes that goes to the VoIP branches. It works ok if we dial the remote fax over Long distance, but through the VoIP it crashes over 50% of the time. This means the entire fax must be resent (ECM is enabled on the fax) or there are sections of the page missing (if ECM is off on the fax).

Things I have tried:
  • Change out Fax machine at both ends.
  • Turn off ECM (error correction). -This just make the output have missing text, like packets just didn't make it.
  • Change the baud rate. -No effect.
  • Re-Punched the wired connections to the fax machine.
  • Moved to different wire run/wall plate.