web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
I work at a small company that uses the Southwest Bell Freedom phone FS246 system with 10 phones. This system is on its last legs and the boss has tasked me with finding a newer used system (read as: eBay cheep, cheep, cheep) that can utilize the same two wire pairs that the FS246 system does. In other words, unplug the old, hang up the new KSU, plug in the phones and go. We looked at the Merlin 820D but found it used 4 pair. His only requirement is MOH and paging output for external paging amplifier.

In a previous life I worked as a PBX tech with old 10A systems so know color code and still have my punchdown tool, butt set and toner.

Any help or specific name and models to investigate would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Sam Dillon

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Well you have a task there.
You can use any system that uses two pair to the sets or a single pair as with digital systems.
You probably cant go to wrong with Avaya partner
or nortel .

I would caution you about ebay purchases and you may get something nice ,or again someones garbage with no warranty ,and a nightmare of problems.

So cheep may get very expensive in time and money.

There aren't any reliable phone vendors in Iowa.????

Good luck and happy motoring.

KLD Offline
welcome old stowger.

You are far from the first to ask these questions.

One, the current system is analog, ie., two pair. Even though the Merlin 820 uses the 8 position plug, it is still only two pair.

Two, look for a digital system. They are one pair.