Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#195677 12/02/08 11:05 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 17
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 17
Hello all,
My company has requested that we have caller ID set up on our phone system. They have already contacted telco & had it set up on that side. I know I had seen the options somewhere, but could not find it when I browsed the settings last week. I was searching through old posts & found that it should be set up under system settings somewhere. I was wondering if this is the only change needed, or if there is anything else? Any extra hardware needed? I don't know what it has right now as I'm off site, but if necessary I will get the info & post it.

Thanks!
Chris


Trying to learn the Toshiba systems . . .
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#195678 12/02/08 12:16 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 627
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 627
You will need RCIU/RCIS cards. They are just like the rcou/rcos cards, need one port for every co with caller ID.

#195679 12/02/08 05:23 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
You will need to bring dial tone to the RCIU/RCIS cards and you will need to program. Do we assume you do not have a laptop loaded with Toshiba's eManager?

Do you have empty slots in your CIX 100? The RCIS is a daughterboard that mounts on the RCIU, the combination taking up one slot.

If your main cabinet slots are full, you can use an expansion cabinet slot or buy an expansion cabinet.

OR you could go to your Toshiba dealer and buy the new dial tone cards that have the Caller ID decoding built in and would be inserted in the same slots where you have dial tone cards now.


THE Bracha, old blond specialist in Rube Goldberg solutions.
#195680 12/02/08 05:49 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,017
Moderator-Toshiba, Request an Installer
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba, Request an Installer
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,017
I would do as Bunnie suggested and get the new cards with caller ID built-in. Note....They do require R4 and above. Check your software level.


Now available Voicemail Programmer Kit to program your Toshiba Voice Mail across your network.

Toshiba Technical Support at: One Ring Telecom
#195681 12/02/08 07:15 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 17
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 17
Wow, I can't believe it needs those just to do caller id. I get it, though - the system cannot translate the info without it since it was not built in, etc. Oh well. Thanks for the help - I will let them know the hardware requirements and see if they think that the investment is worth it.

So, you basically run the incoming lines parralel? To both the RCIU & RCOU?

I do have a laptop with the software - been the sole administrator of this system for quite a while now - A few extra slots as we have an expansion cabinet.

Thanks all for the assistance.


Trying to learn the Toshiba systems . . .
#195682 12/02/08 08:20 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,645
Likes: 4
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,645
Likes: 4
Quote
Originally posted by pertyfly:


So, you basically run the incoming lines parralel? To both the RCIU & RCOU?

Correct. Those cards just receive the Caller ID info.

The new cards, BCOCIU /BCOCIS, can recieve called ID within the same card, but they would replace the RCOU/S cards, and, as stated above, you need to be running on the newest processor on Ver 4.X or better. It is usually easier to just add the RCIU cards to an existing system if you have a slot open.

#195683 07/13/09 02:21 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 250
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 250
I have a question pertaining to caller id on CTX 100 systems. Many calls, especially cell phones, do not show the name of the caller. Is it possible to program a name with a number on the Toshiba system, so the name will pop up? If so, how?

Thanks.

#195684 07/14/09 09:01 AM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,314
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,314
There is nothing you can do to the Toshiba system to get more CLID info. You are getting exactly what is sent to you from the CO.

There are other systems such as running a Netserver and Netphones in conjunction with the Toshiba that will allow more flexability in CLID info by referencing your Outlook, Goldmine, etc. contact lists. Very cool but also another expense. If you are interested, ask your dealer for more info.


Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,737
Posts636,402
Members49,615
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
effedisk, hellbender, Pat Amaral, Zip
Newest Members
AMS Technology C, Chrontel, RonZ1971, Michael1948, lllDez
49,615 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 6
Who's Online Now
1 members (Michael1948), 29 guests, and 23 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5