Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
IPedge & Audiocodes Gateway Port Selection
#205267 10/07/11 08:52 AM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 160
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 160
If you end up installing an IPedge system with an Audiocodes gateway for POTS lines - you'll quickly discover that you cannot specify which POTS line you want to use for any particular call, every call will start on Line one, and move up in ascending order...

Toshiba couldn't help me, so I dug around online, and with a few hints from Trixbox posts, came up with the information to correctly do LCR on the IPedge/Audiocodes setup. For the other three people out there who need this information, here it is:

-----------------------------------------------

Problem: Need to be able to select which port you go out on the Audiocodes Gateway.
(And you can emulate CO line appearances on your keystrip with this ...)


To be able to select outbound trunks on MP-118:

Using Four FXO ports:

---------------------------------------------------
On IPedge:

First, set up four Incoming/Outgoing trunks. Make sure that each OLG has the pool key set to the OLG number,
this way you can program pooled line keys on each phone to emulate CO line appearances.

Set Route Definitions under LCR
Route 1 - OLG 1 - Digit Mod 1
Route 2 - OLG 2 - Digit Mod 2
Route 3 - OLG 3 - Digit Mod 3
Route 4 - OLG 4 - Digit Mod 4

Set the rest of LCR as you ordinarily would, for example, your route choice table
can look like this:
Route 1
Route Definition 1: 1
Route Definition 2: 2
Route Definition 3: 3
Route Definition 4: 4
(or descending order, if you like)

Now, this is critical: Set each modified digit table:
Modified Digit Table 1: Add Leading Digit: 1
Modified Digit Table 2: Add Leading Digit: 2
Modified Digit Table 3: Add Leading Digit: 3
Modified Digit Table 4: Add Leading Digit: 4

We're going to prefix a single digit to each outgoing number to tell the Audiocodes which
port we want to go out on. (and then strip that number in the Audiocodes Manipulation Table.)
---------------------------------------------------

---------------------------------------------------
On Audiocodes:

Protocol Configuration/Protocol Definition/SIP General Parameters/Enable Early Media: Enable
(I'm not sure what this does, except it didn't work without it.)


Protocol Configuration/Manipulation Tables/Dest Number IP->Tel
Type '1' in row index box, then click 'add'.
Change "Stripped Digits From Left" to '1'


Protocol Configuration/Routing Tables/IP to Trunk Group Routing
Dest Host - Source Host - Dest Phone Prefix - Source Phone - Source IP - Hunt Group ID - IP Profile Source - IPGroup
1 * * 1 * * 1 0 -1
2 * * 2 * * 2 0 -1
3 * * 3 * * 3 0 -1
4 * * 4 * * 4 0 -1


Protocol Configuration/Endpoint Number/Endpoint Phone Number:
Channel - Phone Number - Hunt Group - Profile ID
1 5551234 1 0
2 5551235 2 0
3 5551236 3 0
4 5551237 4 0
(Obviously, use your own phone number - the hunt group is the important thing here)


Protocol Configuration/Hunt Group/Hunt Group Settings:
Hunt Group ID - Channel Select - Registration - Serving IP - Gateway - Contact User
1 - Ascending - Leave blank - Leave blank - Leave blank - Leave blank
2 - Ascending - Leave blank - Leave blank - Leave blank - Leave blank
3 - Ascending - Leave blank - Leave blank - Leave blank - Leave blank
4 - Ascending - Leave blank - Leave blank - Leave blank - Leave blank
(I don't know if channel select mode makes any difference in this example - it would if you were
grouping several ports into one hunt group.)
---------------------------------------------------

Now you can program LCR the same as you can on a CIX, directing to the port you want, as well as putting Pooled Line keys on the phones
to emulate CO line appearances.

I have this working at one location - so I can help anyone with this configuration.

Toshiba Telephones and Equipment
Re: IPedge & Audiocodes Gateway Port Selection
#205268 10/07/11 10:31 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,547
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,547
Thanks for the info. I am hoping I wont have to add POTS to an IP edge, but with the EP model, I am sure it will happen.

We were able to get it working great using SIP trunks in house, so I think that is how our sales staff will be selling it.

Since I dmn't think there is a way to mark threads as favorites, I will be sure to search hear for this posts when it comes up.

Re: IPedge & Audiocodes Gateway Port Selection
#205269 10/07/11 11:17 AM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 160
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 160
I tried to give it a title that reflected what I was searching for - "Audiocodes Port Selection". According to Toshiba, most systems are going in with PRI - which only makes sense - I think the IPedge systems are better for the larger installations - since the bigger companies would already have a good IP backbone.

But still - people are going to end up selling the small EP system to small companies, and the issue of LCR is going to come up.

By the way, the "Exceptions" table doesn't work, you can't specify what route you want exceptions to go to, as you can on earlier systems.

The trick, as I discovered, is like this:

Plan One (local calls): N11, all local prefixes
Plan Two (Zum 2 & 3): ZUM prefixes in same AC
Plan Three (Long Distance): NXX, 1NXX

Now, your mileage may vary, since I don't have the problem of ZUM2 or ZUM3 prefixes that are in a different area code... so you might end up with a few more plans...

The IPedge seems to go down the plans in order, and if prefix '383' (as an example) is placed as an exception to Plan One (which is NXX) - it won't work... it will follow Plan One routing...

FYI seemed a tad surprised to see that you couldn't assign a plan to an Exception table.


Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
SV9100 with 10 digit DIDs on SIP
by conxtel - 05/22/20 08:58 PM
SV9100 CP20 Question
by erniejoey - 05/22/20 11:41 AM
Magix positive telco disconnect
by Brian A - 05/21/20 05:54 PM
Nortel CICS 10 call log
by Droptop - 05/21/20 02:35 PM
Polycom Trio C60 or 8800 compatible with the SCM Compact?
by jchambers7009 - 05/21/20 03:28 AM
Who's Online Now
20 members (Curlycord, Professor Shadow, conxtel, dexman, JBean3329, BobRobert, nfcphoneman, metelcom, MooreTel, Carl Navarro, RATHER BE FISHING, pvj, EV607797, Silversam, Arthur P. Bloom, Yoda, morephones, Bob-o, dude, Bob3470), 257 guests, and 35 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums95
Topics93,716
Posts635,847
Members49,286
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Computer Telecom Associates, Don McMorris, Envoy Insurance, jdauph, krust, t-com
Newest Members
nikauri, Darrel Mullins, fleming23, AKP, Oso Rojo
49285 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
Bob-o 14
Ruben 11
hbiss 9
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners