EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
Global Test Supply
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
vpnproxymaster
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Turn your commission checks on autopilot with 50% RECURRING COMMISSIONS!
Flexibits
Meticore Weight Loss Voted #1.
Get leads. Get sales. Get growing with Getresponse
Get leads. Get sales. Get growing. [2]
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#205311 10/13/11 08:53 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 349
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 349
I have a customer that bought a door phone. I went to install it and found it needed power due to the fact they only have BWDKU1 cards.
I read the install guide and wanted to know what is the BEST way and equipment to supply the power and connect it.
thank you,
Martin


Martin Wolfe
Wolfe Communications
Servicing the North Bay
Sonoma, Marin, Napa, Lake, San Francisco, Mendocino
ESI, Avaya, Star2Star,and Toshiba Installer
Global Test Supply 728x90
#205312 10/13/11 11:05 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,271
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,271
If you have an open slot, you can put in a PDKU and put the DDCB on it. Or you can get a 24v power to it, although I've never done it that way.

#205313 10/13/11 04:42 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
The second pair going to the door box would need 24 volts dc and you could get that from the power supply.


THE Bracha, old blond specialist in Rube Goldberg solutions.
#205314 10/13/11 05:19 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 349
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 349
Yea the problem is I only have bwdku in the system. I am reading the spec sheet and just can't figure the best way to do it.


Martin Wolfe
Wolfe Communications
Servicing the North Bay
Sonoma, Marin, Napa, Lake, San Francisco, Mendocino
ESI, Avaya, Star2Star,and Toshiba Installer
#205315 10/14/11 07:00 AM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 109
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 109
Is the customer supplied doorphone a Toshiba unit or not?
If not it is usually only connected via an SLT port. If you have a DDCB then a BWDKU port will supply you with up to 3 doorphones or 2 and a release relay. I usually fit the Toshiba doorphone and get a Locksmith to provide the lock and power for the release. They usually leave you with a pair to put across your relay which can be set N/O or N/C within the DDCB.

#205316 10/15/11 11:07 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
What door box do you have, a Toshiba DDCB3 controller or something like a Viking 3rd party box?


THE Bracha, old blond specialist in Rube Goldberg solutions.
#205317 10/24/11 07:02 AM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,033
Moderator-Toshiba
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,033
Winetech :
I agree with phonemeister that a PDKU would be the easiest solution, however, if you need to... I would install the 24V unit at the phone system side and connect the power leads to the next pair of wires open going to the door phone. Is the wiring a home run to the system, or is it spliced on other cable pairs?

Ottersnose :
The second pair on circuits 1 ~ 8 of a BWDKU card are not used. They will not supply power to a DDCB. To install a DDCB connected to a BWDKU card an external power source is required. This would usually be a 120 VAC to 24 VDC converter


- Tony
Ohio Data LLC
Phone systems, data networks, firewalls and servers in Central Ohio.
Some people aren't used to an environment where excellence is expected.
#205318 10/24/11 07:38 AM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 109
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 109
MacOSX
The OP mentioned DDCB in the title so I therefore thought he already has the control box all he needs is power for the door release mechanism and a door phone? . He just needs a spare DKT port for the DDCB which can provide 3 door phones or 2 and a relay. Or am I missing the point? ( q.possible)

#205319 10/24/11 10:11 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
The battery back up outlet has -24 volts coming from it. Why not use that?

Sorry I missed the point that you had a DDCB3.


THE Bracha, old blond specialist in Rube Goldberg solutions.
#205320 10/26/11 02:31 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 349
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 349
sorry for any miss communications.
I have port 020201 BWDKU1 Card connected to the in/STA port on the DDCB3 controller. One pair home run to the Door unit (toshiba). My plan is to connect a power supply +24 1.75A to the second pair going into the DDCB3 unit. also cut the W1 and W2 on the main board
So for my thoughts pair one DKT port, pair two power into unit. one pair out to door unit one. I am not using the door latch on it either.
Sorry this customer is a couple of hours away and i just want to send the power and jack up to the onsite IT guy.

geez why am I over thinking this one?


Martin Wolfe
Wolfe Communications
Servicing the North Bay
Sonoma, Marin, Napa, Lake, San Francisco, Mendocino
ESI, Avaya, Star2Star,and Toshiba Installer
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,431
Posts639,815
Members49,470
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Extreme, medhat eme, Telephonyman, TonyW
Newest Members
BezLovesITAD, AndreLS, JimLafleur, EssKayKay, xmestedex
49,470 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 12
hbiss 4
www.aweber.com
landing page builder
NordVPN
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
17 members (KRRath, RATHER BE FISHING, justbill, gelehu, Yoda, JBean3329, dexman, metelcom, Curlycord, BobRobert, Skunky, NateBates, EV607797, nortelvoip, Mercenary Roadie, Daniel, jeffmoss26), 209 guests, and 90 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud