Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 78
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 78
I broke the program at a customer's site - and need to fix it. (admittedly, I usually stay away from Toshiba systems, and should have stayed away from this one)

System is a DK40 with DKT2020-SD and DKT2010-s handsets.

Behavior used to be: pickup the receiver, and get the highest numbered CO line to call out on - same with speakerphone.

I think the change was in program 30 (or thereabouts) but can't figure out what changed. Now, when picking up the receiver, i get nothing - have to push intercom or a CO button to get any tone.

Secondary issue, there is a two-way paging horn here, that used to have no beep when it was turned on - now it does. How would I turn it back off?

Please, oh great board of genius, hear my cry!

J

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,273
Likes: 1
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,273
Likes: 1
For offhook preference, check program 32. It might be 111 but to be sure, look at another port that is working correctly. As far as the two-way horn, that's not a Toshiba product so maybe if you tell us who the make is (like a Valcom), someone here might know.

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 78
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 78
Program 32 is 111 for every port. Is this the correct default number?

For the paging, yes, it is valcom.

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
111 is l for pick up a ringing call on your phone and 11 for line group 01.

112 would be for line group 02, etc.

When you pick up the handset or press [spkr], you should get a dial tone. Now if you have a dead dial tone, you will get dead air, it does not know to skip that.


THE Bracha, old blond specialist in Rube Goldberg solutions.
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,273
Likes: 1
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,273
Likes: 1
You might have a bad hook-switch on that DKT2000 phone. When you pick up the handset and press a CO button, do you hear the dial tone in the handset or over the speaker? If it's the speaker, then you got a bad hook-switch.

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 78
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 78
So what I may have messed up then, would be the line groups. Is normal behaviour to have all lines in group 01?

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,273
Likes: 1
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,273
Likes: 1
The line groups are defined in program 16. Normally, you start at group 1.

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 78
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 78
Thanks for the feedback this far. It is very appreciated.

I have worked my way through the programming sheets and have figured out that things are a bit different than I first thought...

1. On all extensions except 10 and 11, pressing speaker will not get intercom or an outside line. The user needs to press the line they want.

2. Any extension can call 10 and 11, but no other extension will ring on an intercom call (they show as busy, even though they are on-hook). CO lines ring through immediately.

3. Programs 81, 84, and 87 are now on for all extensions for troubleshooting.

4. Program 32 is now set to 101 for all extensions.

5. COS program 30 is now set the same for all sets - that is 1,3,5 and 7 are on, all other lights are off.

I'm sure this is some simple program, I just can't figure out what has changed through. If all else fails, I am trying to get a set of marked up programming sheets from this business's corporate IT - hopefully they have them.

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,273
Likes: 1
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,273
Likes: 1
Look at program 39 for ports 002 and up. Do they have a PDN programmed on any of the buttons?

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 78
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 78
THANK-YOU!!!! You have no idea how much of my bacon you saved.

I fought this one for too long over something so simple. Turns out I had programmed ports 002*011. The site wanted a sweeping change to their buttons and I tried to go too fast, wiping out the default PDN setting where the intercom button normally goes.

So, all of the behaviours listed above were the result - since the system didn't know where to find the extension I guess... no place to ring.

One thing left now - I need to get a button working for the external pager. #38 will do what we need on this site, but I can't find the code to put it on a button in program 39. I did find a button for all call page with external, but I need just the external.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,739
Posts636,410
Members49,618
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
CapeTownCraig, David S McCullough, Deshmukh_San
Newest Members
Homer Domer, Lane, AMS Technology C, Chrontel, RonZ1971
49,617 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 7
Who's Online Now
2 members (Curlycord, metelcom), 42 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5