Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#211176 02/27/07 10:23 PM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Moved a Vodavi Starplus 616 Flex system. Station 10 is the only phone assigned to ring on incoming calls. Sometimes the phone rings and nobody is there.


Robert
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#211177 02/28/07 05:43 AM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,039
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,039
Welcome to the board Robert. welcome

Is this happening on more than one line or is it always the same line?

Do you know if the system was initialized during installation?

#211178 02/28/07 02:11 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,147
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,147
Assuming you have confirmed that there is no phantom ringing coming from the telco, you may want to double check your station wiring. The 616 used data pairing, so if Station 11 had a wierd problem, Station 10 may act up as well.

A bad phone can also cause wierd issues with this system, such as phantom ringing.

Good luck and welcome to the board!

#211179 02/03/08 05:32 AM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
I had a similar problem with my FLEX 616 system. I traced the problem back to a 220uf 35v cap in the telephone that went bad. The cap is located between the center taps of the transformers in the telephone. My KSU supplies 38v to this cap, has anyone else measured 38v between the data pairs and the voice pairs?

#211180 02/03/08 08:39 AM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Flex 616s are very polarity sensitive so the wiring has to be straight through from jack to block with a standard rj14 line cord (flipped)


www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
#211181 02/03/08 04:31 PM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
Derrick, have you ever measured the voltage between the data pair and the voice pair above 35 volts?

#211182 02/03/08 09:18 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Nope, never bothered. If the wiring is correct and I usually use a Lancaster to check it, and the phone is okay, I check the phone by plugging it in at the mainframe. If it is bad there, I replace the KSU if need be. But all these flexes are too old to mess with...especially with the price of an STS. That being said I still have customers that use them.


www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
#211183 02/04/08 03:59 AM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
Has anyone ever measured a voltage above 35v between the data pair and the voice pair on the Flex 616 KSUs?

#211184 02/07/08 06:10 AM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 649
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 649
Likes: 1
Moved a Vodavi Starplus 616 Flex system. Station 10 is the only phone assigned to ring on incoming calls. Sometimes the phone rings and nobody is there.

--------------------
Robert

We get atleast 2 or 3 calls a day from telemarketers with the auto dialers and most of the time no one is on the line when answered. I'm not saying this is your problem, but it may be a contributor.


"I thought I was wrong once, but I was mistaken"
#211185 02/07/08 09:15 AM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
There are a number of intermittent problems, including phantom ringing, that can be attributed to a failed capacitor (220uf 35v) in the telephones. To determine if you are at high risk of this happening, measure the voltage between either wire of the data pair and either wire of the voice pair. If this voltage is above 35 volts then you are at risk.


Moderated by  EV607797, JWRacedog, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,740
Posts636,416
Members49,619
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Charles Duffy, Station Specialties
Newest Members
RockyTop, Homer Domer, Lane, AMS Technology C, Chrontel
49,618 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 6
Who's Online Now
2 members (MooreTel, Memphisribs), 59 guests, and 18 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5