web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
OP Offline
Hi everyone! I'm a IT administrator trying to teach myself a bit more about phone systems as I constantly am asked about how to administrate certain systems.

Recently one of my clients has decided to go from 9 phone lines down to 4. I called up Comcast and had them remove the excessive lines. My question now is what do I need to do in the phone system in order to make sure that once the lines are disconnected, the system remains uninterrupted?

I have the "Station Guide" for the Vodavi XTSc-IP but I'm not really sure where to go from there. I also have all the appropiate access codes (I think) left to me from the last person who did the administration on the device.

Before the switch, we had 8 regular lines plus 1 dedicated fax line. We have now cut down to 3 lines and 1 fax line. Comcast has told me that the lines will not be disconnected at least for another couple of days, but I want to prepare now for what I need to do to our phone system.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!!

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Great!!! Another "IT guy" trying to take over the phone mans job! I say that in gest of course, sort of... All you need to do is put the un-used lines in group 00 ( flash 40, button 8 ). And this will only matter if you are using a "9" to dial out, speed dials, and outbound notification.

"I thought I was wrong once, but I was mistaken"
OP Offline
Okay, now I know this sounds pretty dumb probably, but what does "Flash 40, button 8" mean?