Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#223605 09/12/07 05:59 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
technec Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
I have a customer that has a V5000 at main site and a remote site connected via fiber. At the remote site they have a Bogen Paging system, and an analog line card in expansion chassis. I have connected the bogen from it's telephone screws to the 3 Com analog port on the card in the expansion chassis. Issue is the port stays offline, as it senses no load to become idle. With it offline, no paging happens (duh). Anyone ever connected a Bogen to a 3Com analog card port? TIA

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,279
Likes: 5
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,279
Likes: 5
If I'm understanding this you may need something for a DC talk voltage in between the analog line port and the Bogen. If its an analog station port then Viking makes a device that will work.


Merritt

Business Telephones & Equipment + Commercial Audio/Video Products
Commercial Communications . . . Turner, Maine
If it was built after 1980 don't expect it to work right.
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,949
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,949
You probably need a UPAM (Universal Paging Access Module)between your PBX and the Bogen amp.


Avaya SMB Authorized Business Partner. ACIS/APSS
ESI Certified Reseller/Installer
www.regal-comm.com
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
Check your Bogen docs. You are probably connecting your analog phone port to a transformer coupled input that is supposed to connect to a page port, not a phone port. John C (Not Garand)


When I was young, I was Liberal. As I aged and wised up, I became Conservative. Now that I'm old, I have settled on Curmudgeon.
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
technec Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Thank you all...looking into all the suggestions.
The connection I am connecting to is the screws marked telephone line on the Bogen TU35A.

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,018
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,018
Bogen makes interface devices to do what you want to do. The TAMB is one but you might need a Bogen power supply for it. There is a new unit available but I don't have the part number. go to www.bogen.com and you should be able to find the answer to that.

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
Yep, you are connecting your phone line to what is supposed to be a page port connection. MARK3906's link suggestion is your best bet. They've also got a phone # help line, but you probably won't get any help either way 'til Monday. frown John C. (Not Garand)


When I was young, I was Liberal. As I aged and wised up, I became Conservative. Now that I'm old, I have settled on Curmudgeon.

Moderated by  metelcom 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,746
Posts636,437
Members49,622
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
DnRComm, DugEfresh
Newest Members
noriod45, Levi1337, jackbeelerDCS, blentz, RockyTop
49,622 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
blentz 6
Toner 5
jsaad 5
dans 4
Who's Online Now
3 members (Toner, nameless, SamF), 24 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5