web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
I have a client who has a DSX-80 system installed. I have never done telco before, I am strictly computer trained and have done Wintel and network consulting, but I am attempting to help them out on the phone system as well.

I have successfully used the System Administrator software to configure the Intramail system to function as the AA and correctly route calls based on the dial action menu. The issues I am having are:

1) When an extension is rung, it takes about 20 seconds for voicemail to pickup, even if the extension is set to fwd bna>>voicemail. I have the timers set for lower than 20 seconds (1601-1=10, 1602-2=8, 1601-3=10, 1601-4=10) but to no avail, the caller will still hear ringing for 20 seconds or so before the voicemail picks up.

2) When the AA picks up, it gives a caller three choices - dial the extension, access the dial by name directory, or press 0 for the operator. That part works fine. My client, however, needs to be able to have a call to the operator directed to a "backup operator" if the primary is out of the office. I can't enable forwarding from the primary operator's extension to the secondary operator because then all calls, even those meant for the primary, would go to the secondary. Is there a way to do this without changing the dial action table on the days the primary operator isn't in the office?

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

PM sent.

OP Offline
Thanks for the respones. Darn, I was hoping for a quick and easy fix to the problem. Guess no such luck.