EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
Global Test Supply
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
vpnproxymaster
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Turn your commission checks on autopilot with 50% RECURRING COMMISSIONS!
Flexibits
Meticore Weight Loss Voted #1.
Get leads. Get sales. Get growing with Getresponse
Get leads. Get sales. Get growing. [2]
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#247957 10/19/11 10:47 PM
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 37
TWB Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 37
We have a customer that has one IP phone at a remote location (only one for now, more to be installed) that after about 12 hours it stops working, says something like server not found. When the routers are power cycled, the IP phone starts working again. Repeat problem. There is a VPN in place, separate from the customer's network. The routers are Cisco routers, about a month old. The customer's IT person says all ports are open and nothing is blocking the IP phone, no firewalls etc. When we bring the IP phone to the main site and connect it to the customer's LAN, no problems.

Has anyone come across this before? Solutions? Ideas? Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Global Test Supply 728x90
#247958 10/20/11 05:11 AM
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 49
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 49
Is the IP phone using NAT traversal thru public internet or riding on customer private VPN tunnels ? If VPN tunnels, they could be hosed up ( router restart the tunneling service again as you described ) .

#247959 10/20/11 05:51 PM
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 37
TWB Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 37
We are using the customer's private VPN tunnel. Today we sent a tech to remove the Cisco routers and install two NEC Edgemarc routers to see if that resolves the problem. Will update this post.

#247960 10/23/11 07:12 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 42
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 42
As madwok indicated, there could be a problem w/ the VPN. If there is some sort of timeout feature turned on in the Cisco, that could cause it.


Moderated by  ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,431
Posts639,815
Members49,470
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Extreme, medhat eme, Telephonyman, TonyW
Newest Members
BezLovesITAD, AndreLS, JimLafleur, EssKayKay, xmestedex
49,470 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 13
www.aweber.com
landing page builder
NordVPN
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
16 members (justbill, Yoda, JBean3329, dexman, metelcom, Curlycord, BobRobert, Skunky, NateBates, EV607797, nortelvoip, Mercenary Roadie, Daniel, RATHER BE FISHING, jeffmoss26, newtecky), 160 guests, and 91 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud