web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#263485 02/15/07 04:36 AM
OP Offline
I am a help desk technician at an accounting firm with approx. 250 users and 4 remote offices. We have auditors that take their laptops out to their audit clients' offices. Many times, when they return, their laptops have to be added back to domain when no network settings have been changed. We just right click my computer as normal and remove the .local off of the domainname.local. That works every time, but we should not have to do this time after time.

Another major issue that is related, is that when the 90 day network password limit runs out, they login and then system prompts them to change password. once they have changed their password and click OK to save, they get a message that says, "Your password could not be changed because the domain, domainname.local, could not be found." They call us in support, we change password through active directory and all is well. we are running Win 2k3 Server Environment, with Symantec Corporate SAV 10.1.5.5000. Users are all running WinXP SP2.

Any ideas would be appreciated!

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

When they take them offsite and login are they trying to log into the domain that isn't connected or are they logging into the local machine? And are you using roaming profiles?
I will have to pull a laptop and test it here to see if I can create that problem, because I have never seen it.

Are all the laptops pointing to the server for DNS? Most domain issues are related to DNS being misconfigured.

Any errors in the event logs, both server or workstation?