EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
Global Test Supply
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
vpnproxymaster
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Turn your commission checks on autopilot with 50% RECURRING COMMISSIONS!
Flexibits
Meticore Weight Loss Voted #1.
Get leads. Get sales. Get growing with Getresponse
Get leads. Get sales. Get growing. [2]
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#26384 10/18/11 04:42 PM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 48
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 48
AT&T dropped a digital line into the demark at a job site that is 400 feet from the telephone room in which the line will feed into a ISP router then telephone systems and computers. Most of the calbes of type of install is less than 10 to 15 feet from the MPOI into the ISP router and have never had to extend the digital line this far before. One of the installers is going to use an old piece of 50 pair that I am having problems finding good pairs inn so I am thinking that the cable is in pretty bad shape and really don't want to use it. The question is that if I ran a two 400 foot CAT5 runs and split the transmist and receive between them would I end up with a fast connection or could I just run the signal through a CAT5 and forget it?

Thanks


Emmett

Meticore Weight Loss Voted #1
#26385 10/18/11 06:36 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 175
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 175
Over 350' I have used Cat 6 cable worked fine.
Juno

#26386 10/18/11 06:46 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,949
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,949
In a prefect world.......... cough, cough, and if your going to run a new cable anyway. Why not use proper T-1 cable and blocks? You know the ones, two separate shielded bundles of 5pr within (1) sheath and blocks that have the clips to do a loop back if you unplug?


Avaya SMB Authorized Business Partner. ACIS/APSS
ESI Certified Reseller/Installer
www.regal-comm.com
#26387 10/18/11 07:43 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,920
Spam Hunter
*****
Online Content
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,920
I agree with Mike. Using the proper cable for the task is the way to go. :thumb:


I Love FEATURE 00

Moderated by  MooreTel, skip555 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,431
Posts639,815
Members49,470
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Extreme, medhat eme, Telephonyman, TonyW
Newest Members
BezLovesITAD, AndreLS, JimLafleur, EssKayKay, xmestedex
49,470 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 13
www.aweber.com
landing page builder
NordVPN
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
16 members (justbill, Yoda, JBean3329, dexman, metelcom, Curlycord, BobRobert, Skunky, NateBates, EV607797, nortelvoip, Mercenary Roadie, Daniel, RATHER BE FISHING, jeffmoss26, newtecky), 160 guests, and 91 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud