Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#265029 01/24/12 10:08 AM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 492
6string Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 492
We have a user that gets an "IP address conflict error" that pops up on the screen about three times a day. She x's out of the error and then it seems to correct itself. Outlook disconnects and then re-connects momentarily.

I disconnected her data patch cable and ping her IP address and I dont get a response. Plug it back in and I get a response. I would think there would be no conflict if another device doesn't have her same IP address.

Any suggestions?

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#265030 01/24/12 03:34 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,328
Moderator-Comdial
*****
Offline
Moderator-Comdial
*****
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,328
Fill in her IP stack and see if the issue returns.

#265031 01/24/12 06:46 PM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,985
Moderator-Mitel, NEC, Vodavi
*****
Offline
Moderator-Mitel, NEC, Vodavi
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,985
There are times when a network snafu completely or partially corrupts your IP installation, which causes your TCP/IP network connection to fail or behave erratically. When this happens, the best solution is to rebuild the TCP/IP protocol stack.

In previous versions of Windows, rebuilding the TCP/IP protocol stack was a simple operation--you just removed and reinstalled TCP/IP. In Windows XP, you can't remove TCP/IP because it's considered an integral part of the operating system.

However, XP does come with a command-line utility--called NetShell--that allows you to reset all TCP/IP-related registry settings to their default values. The end result is essentially the same as installing a brand-new TCP/IP configuration.

To reset all TCP/IP-related registry settings,open a command prompt and type the following command:

netsh int ip reset filename

You must specify a log file in the filename placeholder for this command to work. Details about which registry keys were modified will appear in the log file.

Hope this helps.

#265032 01/24/12 07:59 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 821
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 821
I believe the command "netsh winsock reset" will do the same thing.

#265033 01/25/12 05:19 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,147
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,147
Does she have a static or dynamic IP address?

#265034 01/25/12 05:46 AM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 664
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 664
On her computer, run ipconfig to find out if it is a static IP address or DHCP address. Then ping the IP address. Then run arp to see who has the IP address. You may need to do this over a period of time, but you should eventually get the MAC address of the other computer using her IP address. Then figure out how there is a conflict (dhcp should handle this without assigning the same address). Probably some device has a static IP address or there is another unauthorized dhcp server on the network.

#265035 01/25/12 04:33 PM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 492
6string Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 492
The PC is using DHCP.
I looked at the arp table and sure enough the IP address in question was listed with the MAC address. I found a IEEE search online via MAC address and the result was "Nortel" as the manufacturer. Our phone system is a Nortel SL1. I pretty sure we will find the IP address assigned to the Nortel in some fashion. When I ping the IP address I dont get a response when her PC is unplugged. The conflict only happens accasionaly.

Thanks for all your help on this.

#265036 01/25/12 04:54 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,918
Likes: 1
Administrator
Offline
Administrator
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,918
Likes: 1
The Nortel may be set to not reply to pings.

#265037 01/27/12 11:50 AM
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 98
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 98
I like to use a freeware called [email protected] I can see every device on the network and it's ip address. With some fanangling, you can get the MAC address as well. With her problem occuring sporadically, you could also launch Wireshark(another freeware) and capture packets, etc for a while, then go back and search for that ip address and see what all has it and what responded with it...but you seem to have already figured it out.

#265038 01/27/12 04:02 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,110
Likes: 10
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,110
Likes: 10
I use Colasoft..another freeware network narc. It'll tell just about anything you'd want to know.


[Linked Image]
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,740
Posts636,415
Members49,619
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Charles Duffy, Station Specialties
Newest Members
RockyTop, Homer Domer, Lane, AMS Technology C, Chrontel
49,618 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 6
Who's Online Now
1 members (Curlycord), 106 guests, and 18 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5