Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#26924 03/12/12 11:50 AM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
I'm an installer of small business systems in Ohio. I have a customer that has an ongoing problem with LD calling. They are PIC'D to Century Link (formerly Qwest) upon completion of dialing 11 digits I am supposed to get a tone and then dial an accounting code. What happens is immediately upon dialing I get an audible ring, continues until it times out to a reorder. I cannot get anyone to accept responsibility for following up on this problem. I must also add it deos not happen on all calls, its streaky, last week I had about 30% failures. What I am looking for are lists of termination codes for the following switches, MITEL GX5000, att 5ESS, STROMBERG CARLSON DCO. I simply want to put in a trouble report and ask a tech to look for a specific code. I have no idea wether or not this a reasonable request or not. I am not a switch man so I apologize for any inproper terminology.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#26925 03/12/12 12:52 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,706
Likes: 9
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,706
Likes: 9
Is the account code controlled by CenturyLink or your PBX?


Retired phone dude
#26926 03/12/12 03:28 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,928
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,928
also if it is an LD call your LD provider needs to be contacted


I Swear I did not touch anything bash
#26927 03/13/12 10:29 AM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
No PBX single line business. I believe the Acc code is controlled by century link. Here is what we got.

Local carrier Bascom Tel. Co. Mitel GX5000

Hands all toll calls to Ayersville Phone Co.
5ess Ayersville routes calls to proper LD carrier.

Have tried to open ticks with Bascom, Century Link "not our problem" I'm sure you know the drill.

#26928 03/13/12 12:45 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,706
Likes: 9
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,706
Likes: 9
Then do as Anthony suggest, contact yourLD carrier. Someone has to know if they require account codes and since you said after the 11 digits you're suppose to get a tone than that would point to your LD carrier.

I'm sending you a PM.


Retired phone dude
#26929 03/14/12 03:52 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 203
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 203
Having some specific numbers called could be helpful in determining the trunk group out of the 5ESS. Is there a specific time period that the calls seem to go to reorder? This could be helpful if the failing calls were route advancing to another trunk group. I'd start with your LD carrier & let them work with the local company. Thye should be able to simulate any calls that are being made.


Gary
#26930 03/14/12 05:47 AM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
Tried that, qwest, now century link said call come and leave OK. Have sent lists of failures and times, no help.Justbill the calls fail immediately after the 11th digit, coes to a ring tone then fast busy. Supposed to get a stutter tone then I enter code. Not getting the stutter.

#26931 03/14/12 08:23 AM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
Are you SURE it's not the Mitel GX5000? How did you determine that? Most Mitel systems can be programmed to 'inspect' the number dialed and allow or deny completion of the call. They can inspect a number dialed down to the last digit and allow calls with a specific digit thru and deny the rest. They do it so quickly that the process is transparent to the user. And the Mitel can generate dial tone after you dial 9 or whatever your access code is and re-order, as well. And for other readers, most other brands have the same capabilities.


When I was young, I was Liberal. As I aged and wised up, I became Conservative. Now that I'm old, I have settled on Curmudgeon.
#26932 03/14/12 08:44 AM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 299
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 299
If I read the OP correctly, there isn't a PBX on-site, the GX5000 is CO equipment.


Dylan. SATUBAW (Some American techs use BIX as well)!
#26933 03/15/12 03:46 PM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
Correct, the mitel is the co switch. Tech at switch says his codes show it being handed off to a switch they contract with to handle thier ld calls. That is the stromberg switch. All I really want is for someone to accept responsibilty for following up on a trouble rept. What ever happened to service? As you can tell I'm ex Bell/At&t.


Moderated by  MooreTel 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,740
Posts636,414
Members49,619
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Charles Duffy, Station Specialties
Newest Members
RockyTop, Homer Domer, Lane, AMS Technology C, Chrontel
49,618 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 6
Who's Online Now
1 members (Curlycord), 66 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5