Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#35829 01/10/07 05:25 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 46
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 46
The customer has 8 lines, 5 lines are programmed to ring in the store (answered separately) and 3 lines are programmed to ring in the back office. The back office telephones only give a one ring (like a notification) on incoming calls and flash after the initial ring. The customer says the problem comes and goes.
Any help would be appreciated.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#35830 01/10/07 06:03 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,346
Likes: 10
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,346
Likes: 10
That was never a feature on the Executech system, so something is definitely wrong. We will need to know exactly which KSU is installed, since all Comdial systems during that era were called Executech. There are about 12 different models. There is a label on the right side beneath where the power cord enters with an American Flag on it. If you can get us the numbers on the labels, we can point you in the right direction.

I really think that this might be more of a CO line issue causing ring trip on the back office lines. Those KSU's are pretty tough and when they fail, it's 100%.

Another cause for this is when telco call forwarding is activated and forgotten. A single reminder ring is sent from the CO and heard on the phones, but nobody is there on the line. Could this be the case? Maybe someone is forwarding the lines and forgetting to take it off? Either of these situations would cause the phones to ring once, then continue with lamp flash until the incoming call timer expires. That would also explain the inconsistency with the problem.

By the way, welcome aboard!


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
#35831 01/10/07 06:29 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,516
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,516
Welcome telephony121!

Ed, I completely agree that this may simply be an instance where call forwarding is assigned/activated in the telco for the 3 rear office lines. When CF is activated, the "single ring" is also a standard option in the 5ESS, we call it BSR (base station ring) default = Y, used as a courtesy reminder to the user that call forwarding is activated.

#35832 01/10/07 07:09 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 6,160
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 6,160
But, it would only happen on line one. Call Forwarding breaks hunting. If it's all three lines CF is not the answer.
Mark

#35833 01/10/07 08:58 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 46
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 46
Thank you gentlemen for the responses, but I dont think its the the call forwarding variable from the C.O. The incoming caller is still on the line buttons when answered.
I am unsure of the ksu model (I will confirm), but I did notice no grounding on any of the system components. That could create some pretty erratic behavior over time...couldn't it?

Thanks again.

#35834 01/10/07 09:36 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,516
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,516
telephony121,
You definately want to make sure that all components are properly grounded. Are the 3 back office phones assigned in a hunt group? Is the "single-ring" occurring on each phone "individually", per each phone's incoming calls?

"The incoming caller is still on the line buttons when answered."

I'm not sure I completely understand "when answered"...I presumed that after hearing the "single-ring", the customer was losing the incoming call (either by CF or disconnect).

Can you explain this in further detail for us?

#35835 01/11/07 04:24 AM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,328
Moderator-Comdial
*****
Offline
Moderator-Comdial
*****
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,328
Try bumping up the volume control on each phone.

#35836 01/11/07 04:47 AM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 971
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 971
How many stations or telephones are on the back 3 lines?

smile


-TJ-
#35837 01/11/07 05:21 AM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 6,160
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 6,160
The old exec's only had off, low, & high. When they are off you don't get an alert signal like the new digitals. I would doubt that grounding would only effect 3 lines and a few phones but grounding is important.

I'd connect a single line phone to the line at the interface and see if it behaves the same way when the office phones fail, this will determine if it's your equipment or if you should be looking ahead of the equipment toward the Telco.
Mark

#35838 01/11/07 05:34 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,516
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,516
You can also try placing a test call to one of the back office lines (when the customer reports the "single ring" occuring) to observe the call treatment.

We recently had a customer reporting a similar problem; we quickly determined that they had unknowingly misprogrammed their forwarding, sending all their calls out to Scott AFB, Illinios.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,740
Posts636,416
Members49,619
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Charles Duffy, Station Specialties
Newest Members
RockyTop, Homer Domer, Lane, AMS Technology C, Chrontel
49,618 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 6
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 41 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5