Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Key Voice Corporate Office help!
#37439 08/27/07 06:53 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Hi All:

After some years of being away, I'm back in Comdial-land! I formerly worked doing Comdial installs and maintenance, but I've been away from it for a while.

I just bought a Digitech G1632 for my new office, and I'm just installing and programming it now. It's amazing how it all comes back to me! (Except that I now have glasses, I need a bright light to see the colors on 25-pair, and my belly bumps into the DSU when I work on it...)

My "new" system is a G1632 rev F, and has a software cart with rev 14D. The system came with a computer voice-mail system. Here's the info on it:

Computer Monitor & keyboard are labeled "Comdial"
Computer is labeled "Key Voice"

When I power it up, the screen says:

Corporate Office Call Processing System
Key Voice Technologies
v8.2 4-line

The computer is a 486-66 running DOS 6.22, and has a Dialogic 4-port board installed (D40?). And after powering it up, I realize how much I missed those amber monitors!

I have info on the Digitech, I remember a lot of it, and so far I'm OK there. But I never did work much with the voicemail systems, and I have no info, manuals, etc. for this one.

Sooooo...

1) Is this a voicemail only system, or does it do some other call proccesing?

2) When I press "F10 - Database", it prompts for a password. The former owners don't remember the pasword. Actually, they said "Password? We didn't use a password." So, is there a "universal" or "backdoor" password?

3) Is there any info, manuals, etc. available for this software?

4) There were no cables, etc. included with the computer, so I don't know if there's supposed to be any connection to it other than the 4 voice lines. I do have 3 ATI-Ds and, assuming the other 2 analog ports probably went to a FAX, I'm thinking that only the 4 voice lines went to the computer and no RS-232?

5) I don't know what ports they had the ATI-Ds connected to, but I'm planning to connect a terminal to the Digitech for programming. As I recall, I should be able to tell from the COS printout which station ports were configured for analog.

6) I've got several VOIP circuits that terminate to POTS lines, so I'm assuming that I can just connect them to the Digitech, and it'll never know the difference? I can't think of any reason why the Digitech would know or care that what appears to be an analog CO line is actually delivered over VOIP...

Any help or comments are appreciated!


Well, here's another fine mess I've gotten myself into...
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
Re: Key Voice Corporate Office help!
#37440 08/27/07 07:11 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,021
Likes: 1
Admin
*****
Online Content
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,021
Likes: 1
1. It is a voice mail/auto attendant.

2. Passwords are forbidden in the open forum. Someone may PM you that info but it is advised to buy a manual and hire a certified tech to help you learn if this is a DIY. Hopefully the password is default..if not you have issues that a manual is not going to help with.

3. Manuals are available. Manuals link above.

4. You are correct.

5. Don't believe on a system that old COS would show ATI-D connections.

6. It'll never know the difference until you have disconnect isssues.


[Linked Image]
Re: Key Voice Corporate Office help!
#37441 08/27/07 07:20 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Hi RBF:

Thanks for the reply!

I didn't mean for anyone to post the password here, just wondering if there was one available. Hopefully someone will PM me one or two I can try.

Disconnect issues, eh? I'm trying to think of a situation where that would be a problem. Hopefully I won't have to think of it once I connect it all up!

So are you thinking something like: "Remote caller hangs up, but VOIP device produces no supervisory signal so DSU thinks the caller is still on the line"?

Is this a possibility/probability, or just a general comment?

Thanks again for your quick reply!


Well, here's another fine mess I've gotten myself into...
Re: Key Voice Corporate Office help!
#37442 08/27/07 07:29 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,021
Likes: 1
Admin
*****
Online Content
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,021
Likes: 1
TT..

All voicemails have a default install pswd. Some installers don't change it. That is poor security. We don't post them in the open forums to prevent abuse/misuse.

Anytime you have a voice mail with VoIP lines the most common intial problem are lines not disconnecting thus giving busy signals or open silence in the recordings. It's more probability than possibilty.

14D is ancient. 8.2 is pretty old also. Using technology from yester year on todays technologies is inviting issues and gray hair. Just pointing that out.


[Linked Image]
Re: Key Voice Corporate Office help!
#37443 08/27/07 07:50 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks RBF:

Good advice!

I'm probably not going to even try using this voicemail system anyway. At this point, I'm just playing around with it.

Back then I programmed custom auto attendents and voicemail systems, so I can appreciate the potential for problems in using something like this with VOIP. I'll probably just use the computer to see if any of my old code still works!


"...14D is ancient..."

Hmmm... I remember when Digitech first came out. I guess I still think of it as new!

Grey hair? Well, I've had that so long, I feel like it's my original color! smile


Thanks again for your replies.


Well, here's another fine mess I've gotten myself into...
Re: Key Voice Corporate Office help!
#37444 09/18/07 09:19 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
LPM Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
Can you send me the exact same information. I have small office v8.2 as well. The installer jumped ship without leaving any passwords. Unfortunately I will be tied to this system for a while until VOIP funding can be arranged.

Re: Key Voice Corporate Office help!
#37445 09/22/07 07:32 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Hi LPM:

I'd like to help, but I can't. Sorry.

Nobody but RBF replied to my request.

So, I still have the computer, but it's sitting here unplugged, and unused. What a shame!

I guess you could buy the manuals, and hire a tech, as is suggested here and in other posts. That seems to be the popular reply!


Well, here's another fine mess I've gotten myself into...
Re: Key Voice Corporate Office help!
#37446 09/22/07 07:55 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Oh, by the way...

I did look at the "manuals" link up top. In fact, did that before I posted.

I can't find a link anywhere that pertains to the Key Voice system.

So, if there's a manual out there, I can't find it.

Also, just so you know, I was just looking for some small guidance. I certainly don't expect anyone to do major work over the Internet for free. Then again, getting help is what a forum is all about! smile


Well, here's another fine mess I've gotten myself into...
Re: Key Voice Corporate Office help!
#37447 09/22/07 08:11 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 6,768
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 6,768
Techie-type the guidance you are looking for is at installer level. Please re-read the Comdial posting information thread at the top of the Comdial forum. This forum is for user and admin level assistance.
RBF was very kind and went above and beyond what is normal in this forum.
You could contact any of the Mods via a PM and ask for assistance. Expect a modest fee for their time as well. That's the best way to get expert help. smile


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
7100 Lan Printer Error
by RM SYSTEMS - 09/28/20 02:27 PM
Caller wait list
by Hofman telekom - 09/28/20 11:27 AM
TDA50G power consumption
by kenc - 09/27/20 01:23 PM
Who's Online Now
34 members (Hofman telekom, Touch Tone Tommy, Telesystems, newtecky, EV607797, nortelvoip, metelcom, hitechcomm, hbiss, aweaver, RATHER BE FISHING, Keyset6, Bob3470, Carl Navarro, dexman, gertter, justbill, JBean3329, Coral Tech, BobRobert, Hanale, nameless, jab1780, Professor Shadow, Bull Tone, crazy canuck, STS E, Yoda, RM SYSTEMS, Ruben, MarvinACE, Darman951, Memphisribs, xware), 433 guests, and 54 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,975
Posts637,356
Members49,356
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
betsy, Cabling Lady, jcorsell, MVSpeed, sherif
Newest Members
xware, Adam19871, tmr-afmk, Big Alan, simsh
49355 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 34
hbiss 12
teleco 10
ABLE1 10
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners