Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#3868 11/01/04 01:14 PM
stone88 Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi all,
I discovered this message board and it seems like a good source for info so I thought I would ask about getting into the telecom field. I guess I need to know what kind of training/skills are needed to get an entry level job. There seems to be a lot of options from online courses, seminars to full blown collage courses. I have been an HVAC tech for 15 years with complex building controls being my specialty, I'm also an avid computer hobbiest self taught in hardware, software, programming and networking. I'm also pretty good with basic eletronics repair. I have been reading up on telecom basics and it seems right up my alley. Any info or advice on the pros and cons of the trade and the best way to get training would be most welcome.

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

#3869 11/01/04 03:28 PM
To get an "entry level job" you need to be able to drag wire through a drop ceiling. You don't say why you want to change vocations, but I have to tell you, around here - an HVAC tech that can do complex building controls can command considerably more money then a telecom tech with some years of experience. To draw a comparable income you will need CTI skills (computer Telephony) which will require some years, and schooling. If you decide on a College course, please spell College correctly when you apply. [Linked Image from sundance-communications.com]
mark

#3870 11/01/04 04:47 PM
Moderator-Avaya, Nortel
Moderator-Avaya, Nortel