Phone Systems

AtcomCloud Online Store
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
cray4 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
I have a DXP ( 14A SW ) and cannot get caller id info to show on the sets. I have connected to cid08 with laptop and procomm and receive info on terminal screen. I have set the lines on DXP for caller id. The sets are programmed to ring. I have the absorb time set to 5 secs. Set the baud rate on the DXP to 9600 N 8 1. I am using DXP document IMI89-140 to make the cable from the cid08 to the DXP. Is this connection different from the programming adapter? In the manual it shows pins 7 and 8 are shorted. Pin 2 goes to the receive on the DXP and pin 5 is signal ground. My programming adapter does not use any shorts just pins 2,3 & 5. Any help would be most appreciated.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,104
Likes: 10
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,104
Likes: 10
If you can see the CID on your laptop screen through the CID08 then the wiring should be fine. What lines on the DXP are getting the Caller ID? Remember the lines must match up to the dipswitches. I have never shorted any pairs on a wiring scheme. I'd check the COM port on the DXP and make sure it is 9600 and the lines are addressed correctly via dipswitches.


[Linked Image]
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
cray4 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
The line numbers are 25,26,27 and 28. The first bank of dipswitches are all set to off. The second set are set 1,2,3 ON and 4,5,6,7,8 are OFF. The CID08 is the older model (Light Color) Do you need a 4 or 6 conductor line cord going to the DXP? Any idea what the first bank of switches are for? Should a programming adaptor work to get caller id to the DXP from the CID08? Thanks for your help!

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
cray4 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
I forgot to say I have checked the DXP settings for baud rate. It is set to 9600 in and out,N,8 and 1. Flow control is set to none. I have tried RTS/CTS and XON/XOFF.

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
After spending many hours wasted connecting my CID08 to a DSU II I found my answer. I had checked all DIP switch settings and programming in the DSU II as well as the pin outs on the serial connection. I was on lines 20, 21, 22 or something like that. You have to match the connection on the CID08 with Line 1 to Line 1, Line 2 to Line 2, Line 3 to Line 3 and so on up to Line 8. If you want more you need to attach a second CID08 to the first CID08 and start with Line 9 to Line 9 and so on. A simple solution that I never thought of.. duhh.. If you hook up hyperterminal to the serial port you will see the output that means it is working. Also make sure you are subscribing to caller ID service on those lines...

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
cray4 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
Thanks Matty I will give that a try. I never thought about having to match up the lines with the CID box.

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
cray4 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
Matty, I'm a little late getting back to say thanks. Your suggestion worked. I had to set the ID on the unit to match the trunks in the system I was trying to receive caller id on.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,682
Posts636,153
Members49,603
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
sandi ann
Newest Members
Motel6Guy, JustAGuy, Dialtony, FatherLot, RFarrarMD
49,603 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 11
Yoda 9
dexman 6
Who's Online Now
2 members (newtecky, Toner), 58 guests, and 55 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Best VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5