Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#431026 01/10/08 12:59 PM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 28
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 28
Samsung IDCS 100 with T1.
Users could not make outgoing calls.
All of the phones were up and working.
Called the T1 vendor and had them check the T1. They said the T1 tested good and it must be the phone system. I had the customer reboot the phone system. When the phone switch came back up the phones startd to ring constantly. When they tried to answer the calls no one was there. This went on for what seemed like 5 minutes. Eventually it stopped and the system seemed to process calls normally. I had to reboot this system once before and it did the same thing.
I checked the system alarm report and noticed alot of alarms on the slot the T1 is installed in. Alarms included sync failure, Blue alarm which says that the T1 is transmitting all ones.
Has anyone on here seen this problem before. If so, is it a T1 problem from the provider or would it be the phone switch. Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#431027 01/10/08 02:26 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,096
Member
*
Offline
Member
*
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,096
The ringing is the VM. Just press the answer release key and it will stop. It may also be the T1 alarm letting you know it's faulting.

As for the T1 sending all ones that is a problem. The only suggestion I have if you dont have one in place now is put a csu between the T1 and the system. That may solve your issues

#431028 01/10/08 04:37 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 204
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 204
on a T1 delivering loop start lines digitally, an all ones condition will cause all of those loop start lines to ring.

On that type of circuit, setting a channel to all ones is the signal to make that channel ring.

#431029 01/10/08 09:27 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,096
Member
*
Offline
Member
*
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,096
Pete is right. I was only thinking of the sync failure. But the exception to that is the T1 does not come up right away. It takes a minute or two and during that time it is not able to ring the phones

#431030 01/11/08 05:24 AM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 28
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 28
Thanks for the replys. The nonstop ghost ringing after reboot sounds alot like what Pete says is happening. I think I'll start with the T vendor and have them do some testing on that T. Would the T vendor be the one that installs a csu?

#431031 01/11/08 04:17 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,096
Member
*
Offline
Member
*
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,096
If they dont have one there then you will need to get one and install it

#431032 01/11/08 04:25 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 204
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 204
Usually the phone system vendor supplies any needed CSU/DSU, some phone systems have them built into the T1 card in the system.

#431033 01/12/08 07:59 AM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,096
Member
*
Offline
Member
*
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,096
Ok lets recap What exactly does the display say when the system "rings for five minutes"?

your answer here_____________________

Do you know or can you see if there is a CSU on the wall in the telecom closet?


your answer here_____________________

When was the last time a CLEC or LEC listened to what you had to say?

Your answer here_____________________

Condition the line with a CSU as was stated before. Check it again after clearing all alarms. Is there still a sync issue? How exactly is your T1 provisioned? have you been in system programming? This is about to go much deaper than this open forum will allow.

A line coding mismatch can occur anywhere in the digital network, from the curb SLC to your phone company switches and carrier trunking to a CLEC to your ISP. It is not uncommon for line coding errors to result from improper mis-match of the settings for AMI/B8ZS somewhere in the chain! Line coding errors may go undetected by the phone company or its customers, and test equipment and techniques commonly used to check and troubleshoot these systems may fail to indicate any problem!

So how was the t1 configured again?

#431034 01/12/08 11:33 AM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 28
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 28
There is no CSU. I have been in programming. The T1 is configured for B8ZS. I cantacted the carrier when the T went down. They did some testing and said that everything looked fine. I monitored the system all day yesterday and didn't get any alarms. I'm thinking that maybe it went down for just a moment and had trouble syncing back up. The ringing was not the vm alarm. The ringing was coming in on the line keys. It was displaying 500 on the display. I do understand that this could be a hard issue to track down. It may have just been a fluke thing. I will continue to monitor the system and see if it happens again. Thanks for your help

#431035 01/12/08 12:21 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,096
Member
*
Offline
Member
*
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,096
I dont think it was a fluke. More often lately I have noticed that systems without a CSU/DSU in plase are having hard to diagnose troubles. Samsung systems even though they dont state it should have a CSU in place. The next time they go down I would have one handy just incase.


Keep us posted
:thumb:

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,738
Posts636,407
Members49,615
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
aaronazatian, bg6214, Jigger, mkpgt, willtech
Newest Members
AMS Technology C, Chrontel, RonZ1971, Michael1948, lllDez
49,615 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 8
jsaad 7
Who's Online Now
1 members (Toner), 33 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5