Business Phone Systems

AtcomCloud Online Store
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Modem times out when I try to access OS7100 remotely with IT tool. Customer has power outages and system loses programming - can use LAN while there without a problem. Would like to upload programming to system from PC. Any help?

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,173
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,173
? - modem remote maintenance not possible without some sort of adaptation to IP.

Loses Programming? Is battery on switch on MP10 set to 'on?'

If you can get in via IP on site you should be able to set port forwarding on their router.

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Battery on MP10 is on. Programming comes up screwy every time they lose power. I have talked to Samsung support about it and they suggest battery backup - however the backup is expensive. They purchased the Samsung to get inexpensive IP and the battery backup costs more than the system.
As for port forwarding on their router - do I need to be on site to access? in order to get routers IP address?

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,173
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,173
Go to a pc on their network and go to the Command prompt, enter C:>ipconfig

If it comes up like 192.168.0.12 - pick a higher number for the phone system like .25 - copy gateway, subnet into 7100 programming. The 7100 sits on an internal address.

Then go back to the PC and make sure you can ping .25.

Now, either you or their data person can set port forwarding from the wan address to the 7100's internal address you have assigned. You can ID the wan address by surfing to www.whatismyip.com

Port forward:

Used for Ports

IT Programming tool 5003, 5090 TCP/UDP
Voicemail programming 443 TCP
Voicemail activity 23 TCP /telnet

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,173
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,173
As for the battery backup, get a Carrier Axxess 48V battery and splice it to the battery connect cable on the 7100. Skip a 'UPS.' The 7100 trickle charges the 48V battery - the CA 48V battery is MUCH larger than any found in any portable/minimal UPS such as an APC 1000.

A 7100 will run for about four to five hours without AC if fully charged, not kidding. It does take about three days to fully recharge. The built in 7100 trickle charger is very wimpy, but relentless. Won't even drop calls when you unplug the AC power. All for less $$ than any but the smallest UPS.

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 326
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 326
We never put a UPS on the systems. We only put batteries on them - 4x 12v 7AH batteries are WAY CHEAP. We've found they can run a system 18 hours depending on call loads (and POE - this was with no POE IP sets). Batteries are what, 12$ each? if that. Anyway, less than 100$, and a cheap UPS runs about the same but gives you maybe an hour of run time. Good surge supressor and batteries beats a UPS...


~ Marty

Sometimes there ARE ghosts in the machine. I use MSN Live, ask me for the addy if you want.

Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

http://www.vernontelecom.com

Moderated by  nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,690
Posts636,205
Members49,608
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
ckfender, John Fox, John Osvatic, Milamontagne
Newest Members
AGITELCHILE, Uranium-235, grahamw, Motel6Guy, JustAGuy
49,607 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 9
Yoda 9
dexman 7
dans 6
Who's Online Now
3 members (teldata1, justbill, KRRath), 40 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems & VoIP | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5