Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#433327 12/08/08 10:36 AM
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 117
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 117
First of all I am an Inter-Tel dealer. Don't hold that against me please. I recently replaced two Samsung systems for the same customer. They had a real old 256 and a newer digital system with a "Starmail" attached (I think, about a month back since I did this). When we went through the bid process they wanted a solution to "Automatically" record phone calls. Well, to make a long story short the consultant got it wrong and we can manually record calls with Record A Call. Anyway, in talking to the customer today they say that the "old" system (I assume the one with the StarMail) was recording the phone calls into a mailbox automatically. So my question to all of you that work on these systems is "Is this possible?" Or could they have been using some slight of hand to enter a feature code to record the call and not told them?

Thanks for any comments.


A+, CTP
Atcom VoIP Demo
Get a VoIP Demo Today
#433328 12/08/08 11:13 AM
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,271
Likes: 3
pvj Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,271
Likes: 3
The Starmail was not capable of doing this.You can do it with the newer voicemails but it is not recommended.They are not designed to do call logging like that.The 256 is even older analog system.
Are yo sure there wan't an outboard call logger on the phone lines?

#433329 12/08/08 08:23 PM
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 117
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 117
I took all the equipment off the wall, just the three boxes. Unless they had a call logger somewhere else on the premise. Could it be housed in a PC? I wasn't able to talk to the guy who administered the recorder. They did say that he had to listen to the messages regularly or it would fill up and quit recording.


A+, CTP
#433330 12/08/08 08:34 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
The real old system was probably a 56/120 and a StarMail would have been sold with that.

There was no provision on the StarMail to record every call.

However if they had a newer digital system, they could have had a Cadence voicemail with that and it was a normal function to use one or more channels to record all the calls off one extension. And if you did not clear them out, you would bring the Cadence up to its capacity and it would crash.

You can record all the conversations on an extension with newer SMVI voicemails. Each extension takes one channel of the voicemail.

Cadence had up to 8 channels if there were two VPM boards, SMVI-4s had 2 or 4 channels, etc.


THE Bracha, old blond specialist in Rube Goldberg solutions.
#433331 12/09/08 12:36 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,173
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,173
If you must go to an automatic recording system look at Trivium Systems Sonicview. It works with both the Samsung and Inter-tel/Mitel. Digital phone integration no problem. Simple learning curve for a tech and the end user.

https://www.triviumsys.com/html/products/sonic_view.html

#433332 12/09/08 08:45 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
What Samsung did you install for them, a 7000 series or a 100/500 series?

Noisycow has a good source but if you only need to record one extension for training you should be able to use the Samsung voicemail. No extra hardware to buy.

If you wanted to record any call from many stations then Noisycow's suggestion would be really good.


THE Bracha, old blond specialist in Rube Goldberg solutions.
#433333 12/09/08 04:51 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,173
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,173
I think he meant he replaced the Samsung with an Inter-tel/Mitel, maybe a 5000. The Record-A-Call functionality is the same as the Samsung's record (button) feature. The Samsung also allows you to preset/auto recording of inc/out/both of a station's calls. The Inter-Tel doesn't do that; at least not without extra hardware.

BTW - the auto record feature of the newer Samsungs is a HOT seller. Especially for business owners that periodically want to check how their receptionist is handling calls.

#433334 12/10/08 10:15 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Ahh, rereading the original post, I thought he had put in two Samsungs but probably not.

I will be 64 next week and there are more and more times I miss the things others catch. Thanks, Bunnie


THE Bracha, old blond specialist in Rube Goldberg solutions.
#433335 12/11/08 04:48 PM
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 117
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 117
Yup I did use a 5000 to replace BOTH systems. It was wierd, the original company had installed the larger system for 25 phones and the DCS 50i (I think) for 5 phones in the dispatch room. Somehow they shared the Starmail. I didn't pay that much attention as I had to do the cut all in one day. Anyway thanks for the help guys!


A+, CTP

Moderated by  nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,620
Posts635,851
Members49,588
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Droop, Linda Utley, lorenlee91, Lorenzo, olyaby
Newest Members
TommyKay, 電信小吳, Partswatch, kevinocious, Chipperh
49,587 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 10
Toner 7
dans 5
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 6 guests, and 25 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Best VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5