Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Sometimes I get a standard north american dial tone on local 214 on my Samsung DCS Compact, and sometimes it's an unusual dial tone.
Is there an mmc for making a local use a standard dial tone?

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,273
Likes: 3
pvj Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,273
Likes: 3
Does this happen when you select an outside line?Could it be the stutter dial tone caused by a message in your telephone companies voice mail?

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks for the reply, my description was bad.
It's a higher tone, almost like someone singing "ooooo" rather than the growly north american dialtone. I do think it might be two frequencies together, as does the standard dialtone, but as I say, it is very different from the standard dialtone.
Thing is, it was on 213 but not 214, now it's on both. I can't find any mmc for setting the type of dial tone on an analog local.

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 326
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 326
Is there voicemail on this system? Maybe that extension has a message... Does this happen when you first go off hook on the extension, or after you dial 9?


~ Marty

Sometimes there ARE ghosts in the machine. I use MSN Live, ask me for the addy if you want.

Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

http://www.vernontelecom.com
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Aha.. I'll check that possibility !!
(Yes, it is when I first go off hook.)

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 44
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 44
I have seen this before, several times. Is it on a 2x4 SLI? I have never seen it cause any issues, execpt for a fax machine that wanted to hear dial tone before dialing. The only way I have ever been able to clear it was by a power cycle.


Moderated by  nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,739
Posts636,410
Members49,618
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
CapeTownCraig, David S McCullough, Deshmukh_San
Newest Members
Homer Domer, Lane, AMS Technology C, Chrontel, RonZ1971
49,617 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 23 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5