Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#442109 11/12/04 05:11 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 341
Rover88 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 341
I need to know how you guys handle a situation like this: I've got a large installation with about 250 security drops (RG-59 Siamese) running a cable tray. Tray runs straight back to front with a 90-degree left-hand turn, about 25' over a finished ceiling with ducts and sprinklers above, then a 90-degree right-hand turn, another 20' over a similar finished ceiling, then waterfall down to the rack. Tray is in the steel, 23' AFF, ceiling is finished at about 8.5'. GC won't allow ceiling grid to be removed, nor will he allow scissor lifts in finished offices. So unless I can get somebody on an extension ladder at the hidden corner to "babysit" (this cable has a habit of jumping the corners of the tray in a good situation), how do I handle getting the cable in the tray? I'm afraid that if I try to pull through the corners (even taking a new zip line through with each 15 or so cables) it will turn into an ugly, unmanageable mess! Suggestions (please!!!!)?

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#442110 11/12/04 05:45 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,350
RIP Admin
*****
Offline
RIP Admin
*****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,350
Well first off who are you working for the GC or the owner of the suite/office? Tell him you will be responsible for the tiles. It sounds a bit unreasonable to me.


Russ runs a local service and private tech center.

[Linked Image from sundance-communications.com]
Telrad Digital Programmer networked and standard kits available.
Commercial and Residential All Types Phone Service
#442111 11/12/04 09:51 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 341
Rover88 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 341
Working for the owner, although GC has substantial control over the premises until turnover. Tray is installed according to everybody's plans, the root problem is that it's a poor design. Chances are I'm going to be stuck with it. There may be some remedy, but short of moving the tray, how would you access the hidden portions?

#442112 11/13/04 07:48 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,350
RIP Admin
*****
Offline
RIP Admin
*****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,350
Well in most cases the GC is working for the owner, I would go to him first and express you problem and see if they can't work something out for you to remove some tiles. Other then that you may want to tell him the cost may have to go up because you have to hire a few more people due to not being able to remove the tiles. Not seeing the job it's really hard to give much more advise.


Russ runs a local service and private tech center.

[Linked Image from sundance-communications.com]
Telrad Digital Programmer networked and standard kits available.
Commercial and Residential All Types Phone Service
#442113 11/13/04 08:08 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 323
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 323
Where I used to work we had a cable pulling system that used rollers on four sides of a square that you could hang temporarily hang at corners to alevitate the need for an extra guy at every corner. I can't remember the company that makes it but it seems like we got it from Graybar. It might be what you need.

Kerry

#442114 11/13/04 08:49 AM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,043
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,043
Yes, the "cable joe".
we use them all the time.
https://www.cablejoe.com/CJhome.html
who installed the tray?
Maybe you could sub the job to them.
Also the Owner should realize he's going to go through this every time there's an add-on.
You may need to wait until the building is turned over to the owner. That way he has complete say over it.

#442115 11/14/04 10:21 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,630
Moderator-Avaya, Nortel
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Nortel
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,630
Tell the owner that you need to get into the ceiling to complete the job. The GC is probably waiting on a ceiling inspection to get a CO. That is the problem with GCs. They are so worried about getting CO's, that they fail to realize a CO won't do the customer any good if the cabling is not in place.


Z-man
Avaya SME Authorized Partner
www.omniofficetech.com
#442116 11/15/04 11:34 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 454
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 454
we too use cable joe's everywhere. if you don't want to buy want email me and perhaps we can work something out on renting it to you.


Moderated by  Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,879
Posts637,000
Members49,673
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
cindysue, esibole1, jpblock82
Newest Members
APInc, m1cashman, jonnycom, XJR9000, BitBang
49,673 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 11
teleco 6
dexman 5
jsaad 5
tim10 4
Shahza 4
Who's Online Now
1 members (mitel_icp_tech), 39 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5