Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#447119 09/26/07 09:43 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Ok.... I am not a phone person at all. I just got voluntered to do this at my company. We are looking to aquire a building across the street from our current locaton. I was having a company run 12 fiber lines underground to connect them. Now to get the phones to work I need copper and not fiber lines is what my normal phone support company is saying. He is telling me I need a multiplexer. Now is there another way of doing it.

I have an NEC digital phone system, that is not running on VoIP. I have found boxes that convert fiber to cat5 but I only get 4 pairs for the use on 1 fiber line. That is pretty minimal. Would just hooking it up to a switch not work? I am very uneducated in this and google is just confusing me more.

Thanks
Stephen

GA
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,132
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,132
Your best bet is to listen to your phone vendor and run copper with lightning protection. While I'm not familiar with any device that simply converts fiber to "4 pairs," I would guess that they would not work with your NEC system.

You could purchase a second system and use the fiber via VoIP to tie the two systems together, depending on the NEC system you have. You could also simulate a T-1 via the fiber and do the same thing. However, your best bet would be copper lines. Hopefully, the fiber is in a conduit.

Best of luck.

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,287
Likes: 3
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,287
Likes: 3
The converters really don't provide four copper pairs at each end. What they do is convert two fibers to a 10/100 ethernet connection. They can't be used for your application unless you do what was suggested and install a second system using VOIP to connect them. I'd guess that properly-installed copper cable would be less expensive.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 894
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 894
my s cents, the company i used to work for had a similar problem, they had a rented facility across the expressway with 200 employees they had 500 pairs run across a pedestrian bridge (with permission) for voice and fiber for data. its the simplest way to go


Jay, a recovering IT guy

Moderated by  Professor Shadow, Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
Samsung pro star dcs
by bditech - 03/07/21 01:00 AM
Samsung DCS power failure
by Telesystems - 03/06/21 09:55 PM
Samsung pro star dcs
by bditech - 03/06/21 05:09 PM
Old Equipment Plan
by MarkAtLMFJ - 03/05/21 04:41 PM
OS 7400 OAS
by John807 - 03/05/21 04:21 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums95
Topics94,290
Posts639,132
Members49,425
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Ken 1959, NEC Tech, patspidy, Skate4u
Newest Members
Sam Juniper, B Ledford, Jonie4, James Wright, TechnoloJay
49,425 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 32
Ruben 27
pvj 14
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
26 members (morephones, pvj, Yoda, Mercenary Roadie, bditech, Daniel, Coral Tech, sundance, BobRobert, dexman, hbiss, justbill, Carl Navarro, Professor Shadow, Ruben, Touch Tone Tommy, Tip&Ring, JBean3329, Bob3470, Telesystems, nameless, hitechcomm, Meyery2k, nortelvoip, teldata1, Royboy1), 185 guests, and 42 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Custom Island 58
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners