Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 12
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 12
Do these LED's light up when a computer is turned on, or do they turn on when they are patched into a switch? If so, does the port need to be PoE?

Thanks

Atcom VoIP Demo
Get a VoIP Demo Today
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 826
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 826
The answer to all three questions is "no". At least not with the Panduit product that I'm familiar with. The lights on the patch panel are meant to provide direction to a technician so that they know which cable they are looking for when completing a MAC. I think the best thing I can do is direct you to this document:

https://www.bemmtel.co.bw/documents/PanView%20System%20Overview.pdf

Is there a specific product that you are thinking about?

Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 12
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 12
Hmmm, interesting, your link gave me the motivation to use normal non-LED style patch panels after seeing that line diagram. I didn't have any product in mind, I just thumbed through the new catalogs mailed to me and saw them but had no clue why they had LED's.

I can't justify buying all that crap when a spreadsheet stapled to the wall can track patch cables a lot easier than all those gizmos and software. It's also a pain to haul in a laptop to the site to maintain cable records when a no.2 and a copier is all you really need. T25 cable staples shot halfway in the backboard makes a small loop which works great as a pencil holder.

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,330
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,330
Likes: 3
and saw them but had no clue why they had LED's.

After looking at Clinton's link I STILL have no idea what those LEDs are supposed to do. :shrug:

I agree with you %100 Mike.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 631
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 631
They're a gimmick. They don't offer any functionality hat I can think of. Any proper installation will have the panel and jack numbers on each wallplate and each respective jack.

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 826
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 826
As I understand it, the light up patch panels are really a small part of a larger physical management system. The system also tracks the MAC address of active equipment so that it can be located, port usage can be tracked, etc. From what I've read, I would agree that most of the benefits can also be achieved with good documentation. To make this worth the cost I think you would need to be a fairly large organization with a low tolerance for down time and a big need for security.

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 631
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 631
That is what a managed switch is for. Plus they can do a great deal more than just show a MAC. If you are running a network that is large enough to require documentation, then if you are not running managed switches you have no business being a reviled CG much less NG.

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,031
Likes: 2
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,031
Likes: 2
To digress slightly -

Does anyone remember a "patch by exception" panel. I seem to remember seeing one years ago. As I recall it bridged Port 1 to Port A (or something similar) but the automatic patching was overriden by inserting a patch cord. It made for a very clean room.

Now that I think about it I was looking into getting them when I was at the Bank (12 years ago!) We had a lot of non-pc equipment that had to be patched and I was considering it for that. Perhaps it wasn't Cat-5?

Sorry for hijacking the thread. The idea of simplicity and neatness in patch panels awakened old brain cells.

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,312
Likes: 2
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,312
Likes: 2
Never seen it in Cat-5, but it's very common in Audio, using "normalized patch bays" and 1/4" patch cords.


Moderated by  Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,624
Posts635,866
Members49,589
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Bujones, davesydney84, diegos, George Kuilan, jesse_ohio, MadMaestor, Rene
Newest Members
TVCTech, joe angi, TommyKay, 電信小吳, Partswatch
49,589 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 11
Toner 8
dans 6
Yoda 5
Who's Online Now
1 members (Coral Tech), 10 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Best VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5