Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
alchron Offline OP
OP Offline
I am about to start a project where I am wanting to add new phones to an existing 66 block that has been using the older phone system from Meridian. The phones are AT&T 1014 phones, and they require more adept wiring like Cat5.

My question is whether its a good idea to hook the new phones into the existing block that way if something happens to the new phones, the older phones can be subbed in quickly so that they can still receive calls. The electrician that works for the company has told me that I can either stack the lines onto the existing ones (line 1-4 paired with each other) or I can use Wirenuts to combine them and use another wire coming from them and hook that into the 66 block. I have never worked on a phone system before, I mainly work on computers and do minor networking configurations.

Any help is appreciated, and I did do a search on the forums but I didn't find a specific answer to my problem. Thanks in advance.

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Online Content
Electrician and wirenuts...there's your first problem.
Honestly, hire a phone tech and have it done right.

Jeff Moss

Moss Communications
Computer Repair-Networking-Cabling
MBSWWYPBX, JGAE
alchron Offline OP
OP Offline
Well, this project got dropped on me, and they know very well that I don't know what I am doing with this. But still, not looking at it as a long-term solution for them, would it work?

RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
they know very well that I don't know what I am doing with this.