EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Global Test Supply
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
vpnproxymaster
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Turn your commission checks on autopilot with 50% RECURRING COMMISSIONS!
Flexibits
Meticore Weight Loss Voted #1.
Get leads. Get sales. Get growing with Getresponse
Get leads. Get sales. Get growing. [2]
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#456781 10/21/11 04:39 PM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 191
festec Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 191
Running two coaxial cables at each location in residential is this really necessary? I don't know anyone who has used the second cable yet.
But everybody is running two coaxial cables at each location what is the purpose of the second cable? I always future-proof a house by runnning a 2 or 3" conduit from the mechanical room to the attic and install dark fiber and maybe extra cat5e to be safe.
Cash grab or future proof?
:shrug: .

Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
#456782 10/21/11 06:00 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,318
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,318
I wired a house once that included coax. Advice from a dish installer friend of mine said I should run two coax cables to the location where the receiver would be located. One coax was from the dish to the receiver. The other coax was receiver to equipment room where the coax splitter was. But not sure if it would be needed for cable service.

Jim

#456783 10/21/11 07:53 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Lots of customers these days are installing big flat screens on the wall opposite the bed. They don;t want to see the cable box. So I put the cable box, fed from the source, on, or in, a piece of furniture or built-in, on a different wall of the bedroom. The incoming signal goes from the box, back down to the MDF, and back up to the TV on a different run.

This has all been changed recently, by the need for HDMI interconnection, though. Now, I run two Cat5e or one HDMI to each TV location, and don't run them as homeruns to the MDF, but rather just run them over to where the box will be placed. I use either rigid or flexible plastic tubing for that short(er) run, so the room is future-proofed.


Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"


Moderated by  Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,431
Posts639,813
Members49,470
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
daleturb, GaryWJC, Mark F
Newest Members
AndreLS, JimLafleur, EssKayKay, xmestedex, PhoneGuy007
49,469 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 14
www.aweber.com
landing page builder
NordVPN
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
16 members (Curlycord, justbill, Professor Shadow, RUSS K., BrianS, teldata1, JBean3329, BobRobert, Skunky, BezLovesITAD, telecom guy10, Meyery2k, ffej010, jsaad, Mercenary Roadie, sundance), 116 guests, and 74 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud