Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
remote access Number
#461877 07/18/06 12:04 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,367
Member
*****
OP Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,367
I had a customer that we acquired that requested some remote work. So I dial in , wait for auto attendant then dialed 988 and got "invalid entry". I can't recall ever seeing a place to change this. I know the admin and installer password. and I realize the autoattendant branch has 9 reserved primarily for this purpose. So where and how would this be changed?


[Linked Image from i26.servimg.com]
TouchPoint Networks.

Serving the Northwest Since 1991
NEC Shoretel Zultys T3 Tadiran
ESI search for systems, cards, phones!
Re: remote access Number
#461878 07/18/06 12:44 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,266
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,266
Do you have the answered by auto attendent box checked, you said you dialed 988, never had to actually dial 988.988 is already in ESI Access as the access number, have you tried calling in and getting someone to press voicemail key and hangup, with nothing in the telephone number?

Re: remote access Number
#461879 07/18/06 01:43 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,124
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,124
I've been down this road before. Try it using 2400 baud rate in esi-access.

Re: remote access Number
#461880 07/18/06 11:18 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 450
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 450
If you manually dialed 988 from ID1 and got that message then either:

1.the modem is locked up. It should time out but if it doesn't you'll need to do a power cycle.

or 2. The line is not being answered by an ID branch but a mailbox, in which case you will have to press 8 to go back to ID1.

The 2400 baud rate won't make a difference since the 988 is dialed before the modem handshake.

BTW the "answered by autoattendant" box is only there for a reminder. You have to go into modem properties to have the modem dial for you or not.


Brian Dunne
ETC Telecom
www.etctele.com
Re: remote access Number
#461881 07/19/06 03:42 AM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,124
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,124
Good point bdunne, If you are dialing in after hours the system may or may not be answered by ID branch.
Try during biz hours to get live answer and manual transfer like Steve described.

Question: Is this a VM system or an IAM system?

Re: remote access Number
#461882 07/19/06 09:41 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,367
Member
*****
OP Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,367
ok, I have a SLT on my modem that I use to dial additional digits.I use it all the time since co-ordinating when to dial doesn't always work. I guess there is a possabilty that ID1 or ID2 is not answer I will try right now.....ok dialing the number then dialing "8" gets me right back to the same greeting so safe assumption that I am at the main greeting. So assuming I am at the main greeting dialing 988 should get me to a modem screech regardless of if I am calling from a modem or a cell phone.
when I dial 988, I get "your entry is not valid, please make your selection again"


[Linked Image from i26.servimg.com]
TouchPoint Networks.

Serving the Northwest Since 1991
NEC Shoretel Zultys T3 Tadiran
Re: remote access Number
#461883 07/19/06 11:14 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Offline
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Right on, bdunne. I was on the road when I read the thread, so I waited to respond. You made every point I would have made. Thanks!

Bill,

Try having them power cycle, and then try again. As bdunne said, the modem could be locked up.

Dialing 8, only to get back to the same greeting could mean a couple different things. First, if it gives an error message after pressing 8, then you are at an ID branch, and digit 8 is not defined. If no error message, then you could possibly be at a mailbox, and there is nothing recorded in the ID branch. This may be a stretch, but I could think of certain programming scenarios that could present this situation.

Re: remote access Number
#461884 07/19/06 11:54 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 354
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 354
I 4th the response from Bdunne... Nice job...

I would like to add that if you are getting modem lock up try using an older modem with V.32 technology rather than the newer 56K X2.

I have found this very usefull and I always use a USR 33.6 V.32 modem. No more lock ups at all and I dont have to drop my baud any lower than 9600.

Good luck,
-MO

Re: remote access Number
#461885 07/19/06 02:20 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,124
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,124
Just a thought. Has anyone else been able to establish remote access. Most probable being ESI tech support. Also, still need to know if VM or IAM version.

Re: remote access Number
#461886 07/20/06 08:27 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,367
Member
*****
OP Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,367
Although I have not CONFIRMED, I am almost positive that I am at ID 1. when it dials 988, (or whenI dial it manually) it doesn't try to transfer,only returns "that entry is not valid"
Thanks grider for taking a peek at it. I am curious as to your thoughts on it.


[Linked Image from i26.servimg.com]
TouchPoint Networks.

Serving the Northwest Since 1991
NEC Shoretel Zultys T3 Tadiran
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
Kari's Law and Basic Edition
by ffej010 - 07/04/20 07:10 PM
IP Office 500 vers. 9.0
by Telesystems - 07/03/20 05:27 PM
Merlin Legebd
by hitechcomm - 07/03/20 08:35 AM
SIP phone Interoperability
by Bushmills - 07/02/20 11:48 PM
Who's Online Now
17 members (BobRobert, Jeffrey Cohen, justbill, Curlycord, OBT, nortelvoip, dexman, Mercenary Roadie, EV607797, newtecky, Bob3470, Bob-o, hbiss, Yoda, RATHER BE FISHING, usedphones, Carl Navarro), 107 guests, and 46 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,796
Posts636,277
Members49,308
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
robert baker, Vangar
Newest Members
Real Estating, ForestHillChurch, Rick95, Byron Stewart, chad1003
49307 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 24
dans 10
Ruben 9
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners