Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
hrq Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Site is running 8.15 software with a PRI (smart trunk) receiving DNIS (Class 25)digits to route calls to extensions. Needing to pass digits to a fax server so do I make the analog port a voice mail port (or what do I need to do)in order for the fax server to see digits passed to go to respective fax box?

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,762
Likes: 7
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Offline
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,762
Likes: 7
You have to make the KSU transfer each different incoming fax to the same place to be routed later. You'll have to convince the KSU that incoming fax digits are actually mailbox numbers, but not necessarily system extension numbers. Give this a try--

Make your fax server analog port(s) a voicemail port and put it in one of the extra voicemail hunt groups.. 49, 50 or 51. Depending upon which group you use, enter the Feature Access (Class 7)code related to that group in the Conversion Number column in class 25 for whatever incoming fax digits you'll be receiving. Put the fax box number the server will be looking to route to in the MBOX/NSC/ACD column. You'll have to instruct your fax server to disregard the first digit it sees - Vmail packet number- and use the ensueing digits to route to a particular fax.


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
JBean3329 is right but most of the time fax servers will not strip out digits. We have done about 10 or so of these and the easiest thing that we have figured out is just to change the exts in the fax server to be 4 digit, with the first digit being the voicemail packet being thrown.

For example: If your ext on the fax server is 320 and depending on the voicemail that you are using throws an 8 for an incoming call, you can simply make the ext # in the fax server be 8320 and it will route the call to the respective box.

Hope this helps along with JBean3329's response.


Moderated by  JBean3329 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,745
Posts636,432
Members49,622
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
cTopher, djmoutt, ffej010, Kenneth J McLean, telephonegunner, Tellink
Newest Members
noriod45, Levi1337, jackbeelerDCS, blentz, RockyTop
49,622 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
blentz 6
Toner 5
jsaad 5
dans 4
Who's Online Now
1 members (Bushmills), 245 guests, and 23 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5