Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#480020 03/13/07 04:07 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 39
Android Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 39
i have a customer requesting we connect to the flow valve switch and send a signal to a monitoring station and ideas... they will not and do not have a fire alarm panel...just a sprinkler system...thanks Andy

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#480021 03/13/07 04:18 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,279
Likes: 5
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,279
Likes: 5
Andy could you be more specific on what type of signal you want to send are you looking for a dialer with recorded message or communicator


Merritt

Business Telephones & Equipment + Commercial Audio/Video Products
Commercial Communications . . . Turner, Maine
If it was built after 1980 don't expect it to work right.
#480022 03/13/07 04:25 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,184
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,184
Any security panel will work, program it as water flow or 24hr audible fire.

You will require a separate flow switch provided by the mechanical/sprinkler company. You cannot use one that is being used by any 120volt bells if there is one wired to it now (sometimes they install one bell on a riser with no fire panel).

The switch will short on alarm, use an EOL resistor across the switch so when it is in the normal non-alarm state, the alarm reads the resistor (this supervises the circuit to let you know that zone is working which is required).

Here in my area we are required to carry a license to work on fire alarms/sprinkler systems. Always check the authority having jurisdiction and fire codes in your area before even touching anything.

They will also tell you what type of monitoring is required such as normal single POTS line, dual line, dedicated line, etc.

Merritt may know more since he is from your state.

#480023 03/13/07 05:35 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,279
Likes: 5
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,279
Likes: 5
Low energy licence and specific liability insurance is required to do alarm work in Maine


Merritt

Business Telephones & Equipment + Commercial Audio/Video Products
Commercial Communications . . . Turner, Maine
If it was built after 1980 don't expect it to work right.
#480024 03/13/07 06:24 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 39
Android Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 39
well i know we do not have any specific insurance for alarm and i was thinking of just having this customer call in his alarm company but for some reason he asked us to help him out with this project....as i had said there is no alarm panel fire or otherwise and is not required at this site....so i was leaning toward staying away from a fire panel maybe just some kinda dialer with announcement....so far from what i can tell there is the water flow switch...but nothing hooked up to it thanks for the help Andy

#480025 03/13/07 06:33 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,279
Likes: 5
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,279
Likes: 5
Viking has a few products that will help you check this one or this one


Merritt

Business Telephones & Equipment + Commercial Audio/Video Products
Commercial Communications . . . Turner, Maine
If it was built after 1980 don't expect it to work right.
#480026 03/13/07 10:14 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,184
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,184
Really? That's legal in Maine? You can just hook a dialer up to a flow switch?

Don't you have to follow any fire code rules or wouldn't the insurance company have anything to say about this?

#480027 03/14/07 05:39 AM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,039
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,039
In Texas you're not supposed to do ANY fire alarm work without the proper license and insurance.

All fire system installations are supposed to follow NFPA codes.

Required by the State or not I definitely wouldn't touch a fire alarm or anything pertaining to fire protection without sufficient commercial liability insurance because by doing so you are assuming a very large responsibility.
If you did something wrong and a building burned
(or worse) as a result you could find yourself in a sad situation.

#480028 03/14/07 06:21 AM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,279
Likes: 5
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,279
Likes: 5
In this situation I would recommend working with an alarm company they should know the codes and have proper credentials you could supply the dialer/recorder and let them make flow switch connections


Merritt

Business Telephones & Equipment + Commercial Audio/Video Products
Commercial Communications . . . Turner, Maine
If it was built after 1980 don't expect it to work right.
#480029 03/17/07 06:39 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 39
Android Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 39
thanks for the response....we directed the customer to his alarm guy to install a panel....he wants a monitoring station to monitor...and they would require a regulal fire panel
Andy


Moderated by  metelcom 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,737
Posts636,402
Members49,615
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
effedisk, hellbender, Pat Amaral, Zip
Newest Members
AMS Technology C, Chrontel, RonZ1971, Michael1948, lllDez
49,615 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 6
Who's Online Now
1 members (Michael1948), 29 guests, and 23 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5