Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#482024 02/15/10 04:20 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 279
dell Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 279
Want to replace a hdd in a Dvr was told that you can't use a regular hhd that you have a hdd made for Dvr.Is this correct?


If you say you don't know you will get more respect.
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#482025 02/15/10 05:01 AM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,039
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,039
As far as I'm aware they are standard hard drives with the software loaded. :shrug:

#482026 02/15/10 07:57 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 279
dell Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 279
So any off the shelf hdd will work as a replacement in a dvr.


If you say you don't know you will get more respect.
#482027 02/15/10 10:12 AM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 237
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 237
It really depends on the DVR. For example, I know the older Integral boxes will not recognize any drive except Western Digital or Maxtor.

You might check with the MFG first.


Jeff
Lead Field Engineer, MSCNS
#482028 02/15/10 11:44 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 279
dell Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 279
Thanks Jeff which brings me to another does this apply to severs.Are severs hhd different from a desktop hdd?


If you say you don't know you will get more respect.
#482029 02/15/10 05:12 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 356
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 356
Some DVRs have a limitation on the size of the drive. You also should determine is it is an IDE drive, or SATA. I would think that any 7200 RPM drive would be good. Seagate SV35 series drives are specifically designed for DVRs - https://www.seagate.com/www/en-us/products/consumer_electronics/sv35_series/

#482030 02/15/10 05:30 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,039
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,039
What is the information stamped on the drive that is in it now and why are you replacing it?

#482031 02/18/10 08:15 PM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 237
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 237
Typically "yes" they're different but in ever-changing times what used to always be IDE in a desktop is now changing to almost everything SATA.

Servers typically were always (Wide)SCSI...now they're moving to SAS or in cheaper-end servers or when large amounts of storage are needed without tons of extra cost, also SATA.

As Bobby mentioned, let us know what the drive's label has on it and we can help you out a lot easier.

Some of the PC based DVRs (PCs with a PCI recording card) limit the amount of storage the recording software will interface to with license keys. This kept you from getting a base model and adding storage much cheaper than what they would sell it to you for.


Jeff
Lead Field Engineer, MSCNS
#482032 02/21/10 12:48 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
I would call the manufacture and discuss with them. If the DVR is still under warranty it won't be after you crack that box. Always helps to ask the people that make it first! If it is was made by a reputable manufacture they will likely be more than happy to assist you.


Moderated by  metelcom 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,740
Posts636,411
Members49,619
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
CapeTownCraig, David S McCullough, Deshmukh_San
Newest Members
RockyTop, Homer Domer, Lane, AMS Technology C, Chrontel
49,618 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 7
Who's Online Now
3 members (Curlycord, blentz, Keyset6), 97 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5