Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#482085 04/06/10 07:13 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,229
davetel Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,229
hello i have a customer who has primary and secondary lines in a fire alram. they want to use the same lines for another fire alarm. we are in calif. does anyone know if this is leagal. thanks dave

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#482086 04/06/10 07:43 PM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,318
Likes: 7
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,318
Likes: 7
Always check with the "Authority having jurisdiction". In our county, fire alarms need 2 lines, with the 1st one being dedicated, the 2nd can be shared on the output side of the RJ-31. It can be used as the input to a burglar alarm, and then the output can be used for whatever the customer wants.

However, in the county seat's city, BOTH lines must be dedicated, and not shared with anything.

#482087 04/06/10 08:44 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,279
Likes: 5
Admin
*****
Online Happy
Admin
*****
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,279
Likes: 5
Like TTT said you need to check local codes but 2 alarms will not work on a line together. The line seizure of one alarm would override the other.


Merritt

Business Telephones & Equipment + Commercial Audio/Video Products
Commercial Communications . . . Turner, Maine
If it was built after 1980 don't expect it to work right.
#482088 04/06/10 09:29 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,419
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,419
Likes: 1
What about a fire alarm and burglar alarm sharing the same line?


Jeff Moss

Moss Communications
Computer Repair-Networking-Cabling
MBSWWYPBX, JGAE
#482089 04/07/10 05:42 AM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,039
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,039
I wouldn't recommend sharing the lines for fire alarms. Like Merritt said one will over ride the other. I seriously doubt any Fire Marshall would approve of that if they were aware of it.
Is it possible to connect the two panels together and use one to report signals? That is fine in many jurisdictions (in Texas anyway).

Jeff, I've seen burglar alarms share fire alarm lines but it's not a good situation for the same reason as the fire alarm situation but it is the lesser of the two evils.

#482090 04/23/10 05:45 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,630
Moderator-Avaya, Nortel
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Nortel
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,630
In Denver, the requirement for Fire Alarms are two dedicated lines for each alarm. This seems to be a standard code almost everywhere. I have seen a setup where 3 alarms shared the backup line, but all had dedicated main lines. Burgalar alarms are optional pieces of equipment, so they can share lines.


Z-man
Avaya SME Authorized Partner
www.omniofficetech.com

Moderated by  metelcom 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,739
Posts636,410
Members49,618
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
CapeTownCraig, David S McCullough, Deshmukh_San
Newest Members
Homer Domer, Lane, AMS Technology C, Chrontel, RonZ1971
49,617 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 7
Who's Online Now
2 members (Curlycord, metelcom), 42 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5