Business Phone Systems

AtcomCloud Online Store
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 36
Bilcor Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 36
I plan on networking 2 mitel 5000 phone systems. One is a Mitel 5000 running 5.0 and the one at my location is an inter-tel 5000 running 4.1. What is the most used way to network these systems. I have been told that the best way is T1 Point to Point but that can be very costly over a distance of over 2000 Miles.

Thanks for any info.

Billy Correll
York, SC

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
The best way is to utilize your existing data network. If you don’t have one in place, you need network expertise. Your phone or data vendor should be able to provide guidance.

I can’t believe anyone would use a point-to-point T1 for a few VoIP paths.

Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
We typically would sell an MPLS/Internet solution to the customer. This is a dynamic solution where you can "share" the Bandwidth for public internet and your VPN.

Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 103
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 103
It depends on how many simultaneous conversations you expect between the two systems. Version 4 and 5 both have 6 IP networking licenses built in so it will support 6 calls. Once you go beyond that there is a license to open the rest of the IP networking resources. The limit is 250 minus the number of IP phones and voicemail ports. The other limit is the bandwidth between the 2 locations. The other gotcha with IP networking is the systems don't like to be NAT'ed through a firewall. I have been successful with one system behind a NAT but the other system has to be on the public network. If you have a VPN to work with that is the best.

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 36
Bilcor Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 36
Just wanted to post a follow up on my networking solution. I decided to purchase a new Mitel 5000 running 5.1 and it networked fine after I installed a compatible router.


Moderated by  Stix1 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,687
Posts636,179
Members49,607
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
BACKACRE, carlbdc, kestrielias1, Kevin-MI, Rcaman, Revertingcall, sc backacre
Newest Members
Uranium-235, grahamw, Motel6Guy, JustAGuy, Dialtony
49,606 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 12
Yoda 9
dexman 6
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 35 guests, and 29 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems & VoIP | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5