Phone Systems

AtcomCloud Online Store
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#558058 09/17/13 02:11 AM
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 33
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 33
We have two sites connected via MPLS for spnet. Problem that we are having is when customer tries to transfer a call from site A to site B the call drops off and MGI cards at each site get a network error alarm and seem to reboot.
Internal calls work fine it is only transferring an external call (they have a PRI service)
Both system are 7100 4.7 software, they are set to private with public with private addresses entered in 838.
When i set systems to do spnet via the internet problems goes away.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
SamsungTech #558078 09/17/13 11:33 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,940
Likes: 1
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,940
Likes: 1
What firmware are the mgi cards running?

There is an issue with 1.28 firmware which causes the mig16/64 cards to reboot when ip traffic gets a icmp gateway redirect from the gateway on a private network (eg when you have voice traffic going to a different subnet to the one the mgi card is in). I've only seen it with ip/wip/sip handsets but it could affect spnet as well.

The traffic is sent differently when using public so the issue doesn't happen

Downgrade to 1.26 and the problem should go away.


Last edited by nameless; 09/17/13 11:52 AM. Reason: spelling and clarification
SamsungTech #558124 09/17/13 10:13 PM
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 33
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 33
One site is running an OAS card v2.03, and the other site is running Mgi v1.28, i have a spare OAS card, might just swap it over and give it a try.

SamsungTech #558181 09/18/13 10:29 PM
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 33
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 33
I downgraded the card and still have issues, it seems its just the mgi part of things that isnt working between sites, i had a phone forwarded to voicemail to test with. Phone rings and gets answered by the voicemail but have no speech both ways.

SamsungTech #558246 09/20/13 11:06 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,940
Likes: 1
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,940
Likes: 1
Why are they private with public? Do you have sip trunks?

I'm going to sound like plant tech support but have you done a wireshark trace? Since you can replicate the issue you well see what is sent to/from the mgi card at the time of the reset

SamsungTech #558354 09/22/13 10:48 PM
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 33
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 33
Yes Private w public is set so that the sip trunks will work, I will have to try and get on site to do some testing, it is quite hard to make a time as when the fault occurs it cuts of all their calls.

SamsungTech #558355 09/22/13 10:49 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,940
Likes: 1
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,940
Likes: 1
I've been told (and seen) sip trunks work in private only and with incorrect public ip.

Give that a shot


Moderated by  nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,685
Posts636,169
Members49,606
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Baron-B, Breneer, dingaling, EV607797, Jase, MED, Mike Robertson, MILLBAX, RANJAN, RootExposure, Tman66
Newest Members
Uranium-235, grahamw, Motel6Guy, JustAGuy, Dialtony
49,605 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 10
Yoda 9
dexman 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 30 guests, and 23 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Best VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5