Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Reddog Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Is there some type of testing device that I can use to check if my old telephones are working properly? I don't have access to a phone line service. I have a budget of $50 dollars smile. Thanks in advance

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,318
Likes: 7
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,318
Likes: 7
google Telephone Line Simulator

There are several schematics, and links to things like Teletone TLS-2, Viking's ring down simulator, Mike Sandman's page, even pick up an old Partner system

Here's a link to get started with
https://www.telephonetribute.com/telco_line_simulators.html

Last edited by Touch Tone Tommy; 12/21/13 02:43 AM.
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
$1.25 bus ride to a friend's house with a landline?

$50 once, and $29.95 per year for a Magic Jack?

$9.90 for a 20 Hz ringing generator?

https://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=121058890727

(NOTE that the Ebay description states that the output frequency is "20 mHz" which is a tad fast, by a factor of 1,000,000, for most ringers I've met.)

Just add a 24 to 48 Vdc filtered supply and you can test talking and ringing.

If you need to test rotary dials for % M/B and speed, or DTMF dials for frequency accuracy, you'll need to spend real money for real equipment. Here's a rare example of a Teltone unit for cheap.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Teltone-TLS-5-Telephone-line-simulator-4-line-/331088222269


Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Reddog Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks for the links and the suggestions. I'll check them out. I'm going to add a bid right before the auction ends, hopefully I won't get outbid. I think I have a 24vdc power supply. How do I connect the ringer and the power supply together? Is there a simple schematic that I can use as a reference?

Last edited by Reddog; 12/22/13 01:53 AM.
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
The talking circuit uses DC. The ringing circuit uses AC. You can use them separately just to test the functions of the phone.

DC = talking, sidetone, transmission, reception, dial pulses or DTMF tones

AC = ringer

You need to study up on how telephones work. Google is the best way to get started. My fingers would wear out if I were to try to teach you everything you need to know about this subject. I figured you already were conversant with the basics and just needed to know how to test old phones for proper operation.


Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 410
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 410
https://oldphoneguy.com/

Nothing flashy on the above site, just lots of great info.

Recommended reading.

Jim Bennett
==================================================
Please hit "Enter" twice, it's a long way to Utah.

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Reddog Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks Jim!

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 368
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 368
Teletone's are the way to go. If you want cid use a tls-5 but simple dtmf a tls-2 or -3 will work fine for ring and voice and dtmf from the phone by ear.

Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 250
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 250
I have a land line. I have always had a land. I am fortunate to live in an area where the telco does not want to take land lines away. We had a tornado go through and guess what!? My cell phone died but my land line worked! By the way I use it to work on old telephone sets.



Forty six years and still fascinated with Telecommunications!
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 894
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 894
I'm a phone collector and my cheap and easy way of getting dial tone etc to test has always been with a "freepbx" asterisk system on an old cheap laptop. i put one extension through to a cheap cisco ATA, they can be had for less than your budget.


Jay, a recovering IT guy
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  MooreTel 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,738
Posts636,407
Members49,615
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
aaronazatian, bg6214, Jigger, mkpgt, willtech
Newest Members
AMS Technology C, Chrontel, RonZ1971, Michael1948, lllDez
49,615 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 8
jsaad 7
Who's Online Now
1 members (Toner), 33 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5