Business Phone Systems

AtcomCloud Online Store
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 68
mphil Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 68
All:

I saw this listing on eBay. This looks like a 1A2 line card but I cannot locate any information on it. Is this a 1A2 KTU or what? What's so Super about it? Link is below.

[Linked Image from phase2.us]

https://www.ebay.com/itm/261427653709

Thanks,

Mark


Mark
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
I checked TCI and this unit is not listed. The unit is not a standard 400 type line card. There's a lot of electronics and a battery on the unit for it to be just a line card. This may be a hot shot dialer or similar device using volatile memory that requires a back-up battery.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,335
Likes: 8
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,335
Likes: 8
It really was a super line card. In addition to standard 1A2 operations, it had music on hold, hold recall w/ fluttering lamp, speed dial and redial. Of course, you had to have one for each line and the speed dials had to be stored separately on each one.

They were super expensive too.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 68
mphil Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 68
Interesting, Ed. Does this card require any special wiring or connections to do all that cool stuff? In other words, if I plugged the card into my elderly 551A KSU. . . ?


Mark
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,335
Likes: 8
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,335
Likes: 8
I don't believe so. The MOH input was made through pins 3 and 18 of the card slot, so make sure that there isn't -24 volts DC talk battery present on them or you'll smoke the card.

I believe that only the fourth card slot on the 551A was factory wired for this power since it was customarily used for a 401 type manual intercom card.

Most, if not all of the card's options are made via DIP switches, but I'm not sure if the settings are marked on these switches or not. Hopefully, you'll be able to track down documentation for it since they were never priced well enough to be big sellers.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
I forgot about the "Whiz-Bang" cards that came out at the end. By that time, there were so many electronic key systems that most people just opted for the new system instead of putting out the money for the "feature" cards. You are correct, they were expensive and, if my memory serves me, not too reliable.

Rcaman

Last edited by Rcaman; 03/20/14 09:35 PM.

Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 68
mphil Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 68
Thanks. I love learning new stuff.


Mark
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 68
mphil Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 68
I've been looking and a Practice for this card seems to be made of solid unobtainium. So, any more hints would be appreciated. Here's a closeup of the DIP switches. Does anyone know (or can anyone speculate) what each of these switches do? The DIP switches are in two groups: S1 and S2. Does that mean two CO lines?

[Linked Image from phase2.us]

Thanks,


Mark
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,335
Likes: 8
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,335
Likes: 8
No, it is definitely one line per card. My guess is that different combinations of the switches in the on or off positions dictate things for standard line cards, such as lamp patterns. I'm sure that they also address things like hold recall time. I'll keep looking around for any specifications for it.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 99
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 99
Hi, I just purchased the same card on eBay, this auction immediately followed the first one. I've spent a lot of time trying to track the Practice down, but with no luck. It's amazing how many times Sanbar changed hands and the intrigue surrounding it purchase by the various holding companies. I'd appreciate any info if anyone has been able to come across anything, or simply knows the settings for those DIP switch options! Interesting, I found other Sanbar practices, but no mention on this super one! Thanks, Jim

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  ChrisRR, EV607797, Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,687
Posts636,179
Members49,607
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
BACKACRE, carlbdc, kestrielias1, Kevin-MI, Rcaman, Revertingcall, sc backacre
Newest Members
Uranium-235, grahamw, Motel6Guy, JustAGuy, Dialtony
49,606 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 12
Yoda 9
dexman 6
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 35 guests, and 29 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems & VoIP | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5