Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#570639 04/22/14 12:36 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,307
Likes: 7
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,307
Likes: 7
We were hired by a friendly competitor to help him figure out why a Panasonic KX-TDA50G keeps dropping calls in progress. It also randomly drops calls that are on hold. There are many more details to this story, however:

1. The original system there was a KX-TAW848 with 7731 phones that began doing the same thing, so the guy replaced the KSU with another 848, but the problem persisted.

2. He then replaced the 848 with the 50G and the problem still remained.

3. Upon our advice, he installed Sandman's loop current regulators on the CO lines but they had no effect.

4. We have never been able to re-create the problem while on site, but several of the staff there have told us that they will be in the middle of a call, they will hear a click and then the system returns a reorder tone. This leads me to believe that they system is doing exactly what it is supposed to do; responding to a momentary open loop on the line and releasing it.

5. Verizon has supposedly changed the cable pairs to the building, in fact they were there during one of the visits that we made.

6. There is no noise or static whatsoever on any of the lines. I am starting to lean toward the fault being on one specific line, maybe the second or third one since the problem is so sporadic. I really don't think that there is anything wrong with the system or the wiring.

7. The serving central office is a 5ESS (ARTNVAARDSO). I would like to demand that Verizon change out the office equipment for this customer, but in order to get them to do so, we have to exhaust all other avenues.

Any ideas? I'm up against a brick wall on this one.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,611
Likes: 6
Admin
***
Offline
Admin
***
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,611
Likes: 6
Probably would be fairly easy to pick a line and monitor its voltage. You can get recording meters fairly inexpensive. You almost have to believe it's the telco, or did Panasonic make 3 phone systems that just randomly drop calls?

With DC voltage monitoring, you'll see the 48, 8 and 0 volts being reached, but you'll probably have to match it up with the SMDR and dropped call log. https://www.mcmelectronics.com/product/72-10405?scode=HMP219


Carl




Moderated by  Carl Navarro, OBT 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,379
Posts634,605
Members49,525
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics (Views)
Today's Birthdays
dcttech, George/wa2vnv, telesalesrep
Newest Members
NiagaraGuy, Luv2uallday, FredSkidoo, tspa, xtrememachines
49,525 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 21
dexman 11
R4+Z 6
Who's Online Now
1 members (Mercenary Roadie), 5 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Telephone Systems Canada | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5