Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,560
Likes: 1
Moderator-ESI - Executone
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-ESI - Executone
*****
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,560
Likes: 1
we have a handful of SBX IP phone system s installed, for the most part, we never hear from them, so, today a customer ask's about getting an IP Phone...I have some instructions on setting it up In the phone system, But, My question is: do I need any Special IP cards in the system? it's currently configured with the main board and another 3X8 board.


I can see the light at the end of the tunnel..

Retirement 2019 ( It has happened )
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,135
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,135
Yes, you'll need a VoIB.

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,560
Likes: 1
Moderator-ESI - Executone
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-ESI - Executone
*****
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,560
Likes: 1
so, does the VoIB board fit in the main cabinet? OR, are you saying I would need an Expansion cabinet and a VoIB board?


I can see the light at the end of the tunnel..

Retirement 2019 ( It has happened )
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,135
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,135
It fits in the main cabinet.

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,560
Likes: 1
Moderator-ESI - Executone
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-ESI - Executone
*****
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,560
Likes: 1
Whew. Thanks !


I can see the light at the end of the tunnel..

Retirement 2019 ( It has happened )
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,819
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,819
There is an SBX tech guide on V-connect that provides the set up for an ip phone.


www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 939
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 939
Try and go straight from carrier to card. Use a public IP address. A lot easier that way.


Jim Hoey

SST Communications
597 West Montauk Highway
Lindenhurst, New York 11757

631 956-0100

www.sstcom.com

Business telephone systems on Long Island and New York City like Comdial, Vertical, Avaya, Panasonic
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,819
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,819
Originally Posted by ComdialJim
Try and go straight from carrier to card. Use a public IP address. A lot easier that way.

Absolutely! Ip phones work much easier behind a router and NAT, but the phone system hang it on a public ip.


www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.

Moderated by  EV607797, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,366
Posts634,550
Members49,523
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics (Views)
Today's Birthdays
Alexander Innard, Allen Wesley, junipered, plunger, TELCO_PC_MAN
Newest Members
FredSkidoo, tspa, xtrememachines, sossel, Devon Capman Sr
49,523 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 23
dexman 12
Ruben 7
R4+Z 6
teleco 5
Who's Online Now
4 members (Curlycord, OBT, Toner, RATHER BE FISHING), 20 guests, and 9 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Telephone Systems Canada | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5