EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
Global Test Supply
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Meticore Weight Loss Voted #1.
Daily Excellence
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#573761 06/25/14 03:25 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,367
Member
*****
OP Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,367
I have a weird one here that I am a bit stuck on.

First, I haven;t sat down to figure out the correct way for SIP trunks to register using an IP address instead of a name. I put in the IP in 10-29-06 and uncheck DNS mode, but they seem to fail to register. It could be something else, but want to verify that that should work.

Here is the problem:
phone system is on 192.168.2.0 network with gateway of .1 which is a cisco ASA. A rule is built directing all traffic to and from the SIP provider's IP to use Gateway .251 on the same network.

System goes to communicate withthe URL of the SIP provider and sends out a name query. The customer does not have an onsite DNS server. I port mirrored the port the system is on and see the DNS query but I never see a response.
This happens regardless of the DNS server I put in.
HOWEVER, it DOES SOMETIMES work and I see an immediate response.
When it does work the call goes out normally, when it doesn't the call will grab a trunk, then sit there for up to 30 seconds before proceeding.

Naturally I don't have access to the cisco, and their IT guy says everything is working as it should.
I can sit there and and have my queries from the laptop on the same network get reponded to immediately.

An additional quark is remote VOIP phones are havingf intermittant registering issues. they are going across a VPN to the main site. If I have several phones at a remote site a few will register just fine, but a few will never find the system. These were working before the rule was put into place. If I reset a phone after it registers it may re-register right awayor it may take up to 10 resets to reregister.

If I point the system to use the .251 gateway, call go out fine, but then the remote phones can't talk to the system


Last edited by BillFlippen; 06/25/14 03:28 PM.

[Linked Image from i26.servimg.com]
TouchPoint Networks.

Serving the Northwest Since 1991
NEC Shoretel Zultys T3 Tadiran
Global Test Supply 728x90
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,423
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,423
Bill,

If you haven't already get a small switch with mirroring capabilities, lap top with Wireshark.
NTAC using the Wireshark data will nail down the issue.

After the VoIP phones register do they stay up or are they dropping periodically? If dropping, Wireshark will show why.


We get old too soon, smart too late

Moderated by  ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,457
Posts640,016
Members49,481
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
docjim, eddycurrent, FC de Argentina, matts520, NetworkKing, Randy from RACE, Zyeith
Newest Members
Goracing57, Michael Duffy, Jim22, hummerdave, Rusenga D
49,481 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 33
Ruben 9
OBT 5
NordVPN
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
16 members (EV607797, justbill, Carl Navarro, metelcom, sundance, BrianS, mbhydro, hitechcomm, OBT, Silversam, pvj, Professor Shadow, hbiss, Keyset6, JBean3329, 1 invisible), 154 guests, and 139 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud