Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#585651 03/03/15 11:35 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 1,005
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 1,005
I have an SX200 switch to service two different office environments. They will be sharing the phone system. They currently have 2 different networks. I would like to make the whole install using all IP phones. Do I need to get everyone on 1 network to make this work? (I plan on running the pc's on the pc port on the phone.

Thanks in advance.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,132
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,132
This is where vlan and layer 2 switches would be required IMHO. The phone system vlan would be shared and tagged. User ports would only have their data vlan untagged and phone tagged. Server etal devices would only have the data vlan untagged per company. The connection between the 2 companies switches could only have only the phone vlan.

If you have the option, LLDP MED to give the phones their vlan info would work for most devices in leiu of DHCP.

Joined: May 2005
Posts: 1,005
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 1,005
Thanks, John. Think I'll crawl back into my cave and fetch my cans and string...


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,737
Posts636,402
Members49,615
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
effedisk, hellbender, Pat Amaral, Zip
Newest Members
AMS Technology C, Chrontel, RonZ1971, Michael1948, lllDez
49,615 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 6
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 11 guests, and 23 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5