Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#599478 04/04/16 05:45 PM
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 3
dhlad Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 3
we are trying to set up our system to only allow certain extensions to dial 911 is there a way to do this? with allowing other extensions to be able to still dial out just not 911? thanks

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
dhlad #599479 04/04/16 06:07 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,671
Likes: 9
Admin
***
Online Content
Admin
***
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,671
Likes: 9
Sure, you can, but don't. 911 is there for a reason and defeating it is a violation of the law. There may be circumstances where you can, but MN is pretty specific. https://www.cga.ct.gov/2002/olrdata/jud/rpt/2002-R-0891.htm

Most modern phone systems will log any 911 attempt and that can track what extension made the call. It's a better solution.

Carl

dhlad #599497 04/05/16 01:18 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,482
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,482
Likes: 1
You don't say what system you need this done on.
I have never tried but my understanding the newer NEC system here in the US make it impossible to restrict 911 calls.

I know on the SV8100 9100 if all lines are in use and someone dials 911 the system will hook flash a busy line and make the call.

Carl Navarro is dead on about the law.
Think about, there is a emergency and someone on a restricted phone is trying to call 911 and seconds matter.

Last edited by dans; 04/05/16 01:20 PM.

We get old too soon, smart too late
dhlad #599507 04/05/16 02:43 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
I seem to recall this coming up in NEC training and the response was they would do it with a letter from the customers lawyer .

but like Carl and Dans said its not a good idea and leaves you and the customer liable if there is a emergency situation


Skip
------------------------------------

Serving SW and West central Fl since 1984
dhlad #599509 04/05/16 04:57 PM
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 3
dhlad Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 3
I my self don't like the idea either, and my first question after that was my own liability. I am being told by upper management this has to be done. This is on a 8100 system we have a PRI and 4 analog lines feeding into it.

dhlad #599510 04/05/16 06:15 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,671
Likes: 9
Admin
***
Online Content
Admin
***
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,671
Likes: 9
Let's put this another way: https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.78

When they start mentioning FELONY, I get really nervous. Better the fraudulent caller gets the penalty for dialing 911 than you.

Carl

dhlad #599513 04/05/16 07:21 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,482
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,482
Likes: 1
dhlad,

Carl gave you the link, show it to your upper management.

The SV8100 will not allow 911 calls to be restricted.

If a NEC tech has found a way to do it I hope he or she keeps it to themselves. DO NOT POST!


We get old too soon, smart too late
dhlad #599518 04/05/16 07:51 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
What I got was that NEC would do it with the proper documentation and releases from the customer , so you need to find someone who has proper certs on the system , have them contact NEC to request it and go from there.


Skip
------------------------------------

Serving SW and West central Fl since 1984
dhlad #599554 04/06/16 04:05 PM
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 1
Kinda on the same topic, is it possible to change the key dialed to get an outside trunk line so we don't mistakenly dial 911? Our parent company is in Germany and the country code is 011, so if someone forgets the 0, cops show up at the door. Also, someone might double-tap the 1 key when making a LD call (9,1,1); agan, cops at the door.

I have a decent amount of experience with Nortel/Norstar systems, but not sure of the verbiage or where the option would be in the SV8100.

Any info appreciated!

Last edited by sirluke34; 04/06/16 04:27 PM.
dhlad #599573 04/06/16 09:09 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,333
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,333
Here in New Zealand we used to get a lot of false calls to 111 / 911 but now when you call these numbers you get a recording telling you that you have reached and emergency service number and if your call is genuine pleaze stay on the line otherwize hang up or words to that effect. Cut down the number of false calls by over 50%


Regards,

Paul W
Now back to a 0 day week. Love these 7 day weekends.
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,834
Posts636,792
Members49,652
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
AWhite, jnimmick, MarkTPN
Newest Members
machinegod, Gtownpaper, Lazlo, devben, bubblegum
49,651 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
3 members (Curlycord, nlysc, Carl Navarro), 46 guests, and 34 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5