Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#600024 04/19/16 01:21 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 51
Member
*****
OP Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 51
We are having problems backing up an XTS dual cabinet. It has a MPB2 processor with a software version 3.50.2. When the download reaches 243K the processor reboots on its own. This happens every time at 243K. I’ve tried using 9600 and 19200 baud rates on 2 different laptops, one with an rs-232 usb adapter and one with a built in rs-232 with no difference. I’ve also tried connecting using the built-in Ethernet port which pops up saying blocked in admin (I believe only version 3.00 will allow connection using the Ethernet port).

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 649
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 649
Likes: 1
Are you using hyperterminal or WinDba? What ever your answer is, try the other.


"I thought I was wrong once, but I was mistaken"
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,136
Moderator-Vodavi, Vertical, XBlue
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vodavi, Vertical, XBlue
*****
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,136
I used WinDBA so seldom, but wasn't there a place for partial uploads/downloads? That would at least give you something rather than nothing. Does the system allow you to obtain a database print out?

I had a similar reboot problem on an old MPB2 that did this during the F85 (print all) when it got 1/2 way through the station printout. We were instructed to upgrade the software but since you need a good backup to do that, you are presently stuck trying to use some terminal program that hopefully, might work.



- Dave S. -

You can never appease your ideologue opponents.

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
I had a Fujitsu Allegra 192 (Vodavi DVXplus IV equivalent, the predecessor to the XTS) that did the same exact thing. All of Vodavi's digital systems ultimately followed a nearly identical program set. Our problem was so bad that Vodavi flew out a support technician to troubleshoot. We replaced every single component, all the way down to the cable connecting the cabinets together to no avail. In the end, we were only able to capture a full download by halting all system call processing activity. We did this by pulling all of the cards and lowering the baud rate to 1,200. It took forever, but once we got it, we ended up replacing the MPB and upgrading the software to FP3.

We never got a definitive answer as to why the problem was occurring, just a solution. My guess is that the processor couldn't handle everything happening at once. We may never know.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
To use the mpb ethernet port you need to set the operator station ip/mac test in flash 50/51 to any (unknown choice 3...it is there) and then the port will not be blocked.

Last edited by Derrick; 04/23/16 03:31 PM.

www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.

Moderated by  EV607797, JWRacedog, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,827
Posts636,761
Members49,644
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Al Dukes, entire
Newest Members
PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford
49,643 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 12
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
5 members (Yoda, hbiss, ramo, JBean3329, Toner), 110 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5