Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 3
smurfy Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 3
Hi guys,
First awesome forum. This is really the only non-esi published info I have found that is helpful in learning my esi system.

Is it possible for a user to reset the NSP? Being a user, ESI won't talk to me and I'm pretty sure my problem is that I have a hung connection locking my NSP and need to reset it.

I can program just fine through my telephone interface so I know my password and I know it works. But through system programmer or system administrator - when I try to connect to the site through NSP - my site will prepare the system handshake and then attempt to Validate the password three times and then password validation fails. I believe this is because a connection to this site was opened and then the program was closed without disconnecting.

Any ideas? I have an installer coming up in a week or so but it sure would be nice to be able to program before then.

esi support seems to have some great people with good technical skills but how frustrating to hear,"Oh yes, we understand your problem, it's not that hard to solve, unfortunately we are not allow to tell you the answer."

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 3
smurfy Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 3
FWIW - I am attempting to connect from inside my LAN, should be no NAT issues. IP address responds to ping, I have not done anything like an nmap/nping to verify 59002-59008 but I'm leaning against a network traffic issue.

I was able to connect to this site once, about a month ago when I first installed system programmer. I know I closed the program without disconnecting.

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,486
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,486
You can try holding down the 1 key until you hear your Auto Attendant then dial 988 you should hear modem tone then hang up. That sometimes will clear the NSP. If that doesn't work try a reboot in off hours.

If you can get into system programming from the phone check the NSP IP address and make sure it the one that you are trying to connect to. If it is correct try unplugging it and ping and see if you get a response, maybe something else on the network is using the IP address and that would cause this issue.

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
The most simple way to clear the NSP is to just power down the system, wait about 30 seconds and then power it back up. This will reset ANY locked ports and services.

What you describe almost seems like that is an IP conflict. But, it could also be a locked NSP.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 3
smurfy Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 3
Thanks oobie.

Good suggestions, I did find an error in the IP config but fixing that did not get me connected. Unplugged, pinged, no response. Plugged back in, ping returns packets and Angry IP scanner returns the MAC address produced by esi. Will try a reboot when I get a chance


Moderated by  5years&counting, nonameyet 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,827
Posts636,768
Members49,645
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Dan Powell, EKPTECH86, History, LinuxTech, Mike Miller, ttcfcl
Newest Members
KoolBreeze, PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl
49,644 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 12
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 16 guests, and 18 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5