Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#601635 06/15/16 09:43 PM
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 16
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 16
Recently installed a 50 heavy and the site had an existing over head bell ringer landed on their old PBX. We can get the ringer to 'ring' but it stops after the AA kicks in after 2 rings per. their request-but when the AA stops-all phones ring (except 2 whch are not part of the ring group) but the bell does not resume ringing and the strange thing is you have to allow line 1 to ring twice before you can pick it up-if you disconnect the bell this issue goes away-thoughts.
Customer is willing to pay for different bells all together but not sure what type I can quote?
Help

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
First off, what extension is the bell connected to? It has to be one of the single line POTS extensions.

It looks to me like you have 2 maybe three issues:

1. All phones will stop ringing, including the bell when the ESI sends the call to AA. If the phones begin to ring again and the bell does not, that is probably a programming error in the department. You will need to include the bell in the department.

2. If the bell is sitting on a CO line, the 2 ring problem is probably caller ID interval. The bell may be causing a miss match on the CO line.

3. The common way to include overhead bells is to include the extension that the bell is connected to in the ringing extensions. If, after the AA message is done, the system may be programmed to ring a department. The bell's extension needs to be in the department for the bell to continue ringing.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 16
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 16
Do I need to just put the bell in the ring group?

Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 16
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 16
I was thinking it was left out of the ring group we are going to look at that first. As far as the CID interval I will look at that as well. Thank you so much for the advise. I'll update when I have progress

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Here's another common mistake. If the bell is in a department, make sure the ringing is set to ALL and not in order. If set to In Order, after the bell rings and the ringing moves on to the next extension in line, the bell stops ringing.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 16
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 16
I will check that as well- Have not hit site yet had to put out fire someplace else.


Moderated by  5years&counting, nonameyet 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,834
Posts636,792
Members49,651
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
AWhite, jnimmick, MarkTPN
Newest Members
machinegod, Gtownpaper, Lazlo, devben, bubblegum
49,651 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
3 members (nlysc, Toner, Curlycord), 37 guests, and 32 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5