Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#602227 07/12/16 06:44 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 131
WJS Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 131
Hi. I'm not overly familiar with ESI but have managed to fumble my way through some basic program changes. I went to add an ext to a ESI IVX E-Class and couldn't get it to work. When I plug in the phone, it's just dead. When I dial the ext no, 106 it says ext 106 is an unused ext. In programming I can give ext 106 a name and go through all the steps but it doesn't come up. This is the r/bl pair coming out of the system. What am I missing? 107 didn't work either.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
WJS #602228 07/12/16 07:32 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Two things to check:

1. The normal default numbering starts with extension 100 on the white/blue pair of the cable connected to the FIRST voice port module. Extension 106, if the default numbering is in place, would be on the red/org pair.

2. Check to see that the amphenol connector is firmly plugged into the voice module connector. Make sure the wiring pairs are terminated on the 66 block.

If those tests check out, then you may have a bad amphenol connector or, if the connector is the IDC type, the pairs may have slipped out of the individual IDC connection.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
WJS #602231 07/12/16 09:09 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 131
WJS Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 131
Thanks for the reply Rcaman. Yes I counted wrong 106 would be the red/org but I did try rd/orn and rd/grn and neither worked. If I monitor with my test set there is battery there but it sounds different than a working ext. When I went to put a name in 106 there was already a name there, like maybe it was used being used at one time. Do you think a reset would help?

WJS #602255 07/13/16 03:09 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
You do realize this is a digital port, right? You can't use a butt set or any kind of "monitor" device. The ONLY way to properly test the port is with an ESI digital set, like a 48 button or 16 button set.

You write that you have "battery" on the pair. That means the pair is connected through to the port module.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
WJS #602284 07/14/16 01:54 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,266
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,266
Likes: 1
Are you sure it is a E-Class and not a C-Class with a 3x6x0 card ??


Moderated by  5years&counting, nonameyet 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,832
Posts636,785
Members49,649
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
bravesfan, cjvio, Cory S., Jack Scott, l.landeche, TexasD
Newest Members
devben, bubblegum, Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw, KoolBreeze
49,648 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
2 members (justbill, Curlycord), 115 guests, and 30 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5